1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Plasma...?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by digitalbanana, Oct 9, 2004.

  1. digitalbanana

    digitalbanana
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im interested in the Panasonic PWD6...but have a few queries.

    Does the PWD6 from richer sounds come with the boards installed for TV and PC use? if not, what do i need and how much extra will it cost?

    What is the PWD6's response time...i.e. is it good enough to play fast games on, both PC and XBox?

    I have heard that some plasma's cannot take modified Xbox signal's as they are progressive or something...is this true...and for the PWD6?

    lastly, wall mounting...dixons quote £300 for install? seems a bit pricey...is there a cheaper way to get it done?

    sorry abt the list.

    Cheers.
     
  2. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    1) you need a terminal board £120 or SCART to VGA converter/cable
    2) burnout 3 and Fable look good on my screen
    3) wall mounts can be found for £60, drill and mount it yourself
     
  3. rafaqat

    rafaqat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chipped XBoxes can output progressive scan signal and interlaced signals.
    I guess if you had a plasma that could only take PAL Progressive Scan then you may have a problem but I've not seen any that have just PAL Prog Scan support.
     
  4. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    xbox can't do PAL progressive scan
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I suggest you have a look here www.av-sales.co.uk give them a call and they will sort out everything you need and deliver it all to your door.............
    best bet is to use Sky or freeview for TV signal... Neeed to know more aout what you own what you need and where you are to help more mate.
     
  6. MD_London

    MD_London
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon is right...check out av-sales.co.uk and ask them as many newbie dumb questions as you can because thats what I did...and they answered them all without laughing!

    I bought my pwd6 from them and im well happy :)
     
  7. thierfeu

    thierfeu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't want to create a topic, considering a lot of people talked about it;...but even searching, I can't have a precise answer to my questions :

    1) Is a Mooded XBOX (with chip + Hard disk + evolution X dashboard) working with a PANNY TH37 or 42 PA30 , connected with A RGB SCART CABLE (not the crappy yellow plug)

    1bis ) in this case will my Xbox be able to work at 60 hz ?

    2) on this PANNY, there is only one YUV composite output. My DVD recorder/player is progressive scan. What should I do ?

    connect the xbox with special YUV kit/cables and DVD with RGB/scart ?
    or
    Connect the xbox with RGB/SCART and DVD with YUV

    in fact : is YUV going to be more spectacular on Xbox ou in DVD ?
    I won't watch any DVD on xbox. Just games and divx (copy of originals, i Own, obviously :devil: )

    Thanks

    It's a VERY important question to me... if I buy a Plasma TV and kidz can't use their Xbox anymore... oh my god !! (wife's hug strike : for plasma in, and kidz rebellion : for xbox out --> i'm banned of house)
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I would kepp Xbox on RGB scart and use DVD with component YUV inputs for best quality DVD playback and very good XBOX.
     
  9. thierfeu

    thierfeu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok that's nice , thanks

    I was afraid it may be a mandatory to have modchip xbox connected to plasma in 60 hz mode ONLY with YUV connection

    regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...