1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Panasonic AE500's have Japanese menu and 120v

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jake3142, Oct 19, 2003.

  1. jake3142

    jake3142
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    thats a bit of a shame...... especially if your AE500 is due to arrive sometime next week!

    ad
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep........gonna be quite a few disappointed members both here & over @ avs.

    It's possible Panasonic will maintain this policy.....European destined units have scart etc. so are slightly different anyway. Probably well aware of the amount of personal imports into Europe directly from Japan now with the advent of pricejapan et al.

    Can't see official European Panasonic retailers/distributors being too happy with all these "Japanese" units flooding the market here.

    :smoke:
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    In which case these retailers/distributors should be bugging Panasonic in general to stop with japan getting such early releases!

    Now in my view anyone desperate enough to buy a projector on early release from Japan must be something of an enthusiast, so to stop it being done is cutting out these people who will more likely than not go out and buy the equivalent from sanyo/sony instead!

    also..... these few enthusiasts are the ones who will be out singing the machines praises! So there are a few imports, it means that come the offical release locally, everyone knows the machine is a winner so more people buy it..... without that, uptake will be somewhat slower.

    ah well im going to shut up!

    ad
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :clap: :clap:

    You're just upset 'cause you wanted an AE500 :D
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    ouch....... i spend too much time on here dont i...... :eek:

    well actually i could be happy if someone decides they want shot of their japan locked AE500 ;)

    Ad
     
  7. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hey Ad,


    Good to see you making the "Veteran" rating..........:smashin:

    All the best,


    Sean.
     
  8. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey all,
    I had one on order as well until they told me of the 'problems' and that they had a new 'ultra' low price and they had loads in stock..no wonder and claim that they will be able to find a solution to the language problem within the next 1-2 months.
    Anyway i will wait till it comes out in England, until then i have bought the PT-AE200 for 700 quid at Komplett, what a bargain, since this is my first pj i will not be dissapointed.
    Does anyone know how much transformers cost and where to get them from?and how long it would take to learn japanese?LOL
    Regards
    Fred
     
  9. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    you could always get a mail order bride and she could help you out! :D

    ad
     
  10. jake3142

    jake3142
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    After 'Sleeping On It', I've decided to go ahead and get a Jap AE500.

    If they can't crack the language unlock code, I'll get my uncle ( who is fluent in Japanese) to translate the menus. Also if an external transformer gives me the hump, I have a feeling that once the UK spec AE500 is released, it should be possible to change the internal PSU for the UK version....

    I'll let you know how things go!

    ta ta

    Jake
     
  11. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,503
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +504
    This is true dedication.

    Chris L
     
  12. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    not that big of a deal really.

    I have a big lump of a transformer from Maplins, and up until about 1 year ago I had more AV kit running off that than 240v.

    As for the japanese, most will probably be katakana for tech stuff, so you can probably read it yourself with a reference book.

    Looking forward to impressions...
     
  13. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Jake3142,

    You'll probably be the one of few here with one, so we'll be very anxious to hear your impressions..........



    Sean G.
     
  14. jake3142

    jake3142
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Of course I'll let you guys know how I get on :)

    According to my supplier, it should be here by the end of the week. So with luck I'll pick it up on Saturday... :)

    Maybe when someone else in London has bought a Sanyo Z2, they would like to meet up and do a side by side comparison?

    ta ta

    Jake
     
  15. jake3142

    jake3142
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AE500 arrived on Thursday :)

    sorry to take so long getting back to you guys!

    First Impressions are excellent:

    Positives:
    1) As expected, there is no sceendoor visible
    2) Brightness is good
    3) Very quiet - particularly in low power mode
    4) I get *perfect* 1:1 pixel mapping when my desktop is set to 1280 x 720 (Nvidia) using the D15 VGA connector
    5) The 'out of box' contrast and colour is good. But I'm sure it can do better when I switch to a DVI lead and calibrate it.

    Slightly bad thing's:
    1) Some fixed panel noise, this looks like very slight vertical streaks, almost as if someone didn't rinse off the washing up liquid when cleaning the LCD panels!
    2) Jap menu is a minor pain, but at least the remote has a 'normal' button which will reset any parameter to the factory default (thankfully this is ONLY the parameter you have selected)
    3) Sometimes it looses the lock at 1280x720, and thinks I'm feeding it 1280 x 768 - this wrecks the 1:1 pixel mapping. If I change the aspect ratio, it recaptures the lock. Could be due to my 10m vga cable?
    4) I get image tearing during scene panning, particularly in car chases. I don't see this on the monitor, so maybe the PJ doesn't like 60 Hz ?
    5) 110v input.... but the stepdown transformer doesn't really get in the way


    Really Annoying things:
    1) Nothing - this PJ has a happy home!

    ta ta

    Jake
     
  16. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    which step down transformer did you use and where did you get it from?
    much appreciated thinking of getting one of these babies v soon, even though just got the 200 hehe
    Fred
     
  17. TimF

    TimF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if the 500 is the same mounting/box etc nd lens arrangement as the 100.


    Would like to upgrade at some point but I am banned from cutting any "new" holes in the ceiling for the forseable future!

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...