First HTPC build and two issues

Parklife

I have never built a PC before but thought I would give it a go with a HTPC to hook up to a Pioneer Kuro 600m and Onkyo 876

Gigabyte H57M-USB3, Intel H57, 1156, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), DDR3 2200+/1800, SATA 3GB/s RAID, mATX, VGA
Intel Core i3 530 Dual Core Clarkdale 32nm, 2.93GHz, 4MB Cache, 73W, Integrated GPU @ 733MHz, Retail
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit, Single, - OEM
Edimax EW-7728In 802.11n v2.0 300Mbps wireless PCI card
Antec Fusion Remote Black, Micro-ATX, HTPC/Desktop with IR & Remote, w/o PSU
Logitech diNovo Mini Bluetooth Handheld Keyboard
40GB Intel X25-V, MLC-Flash, 2.5"
1.5TB Western Digital WD15EARS Caviar Green, 5400+rpm, 64Mb Cache, 8ms
LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray Reader and DVDRW Drive Blu-Ray Read Speed: 8x
450W Corsair HX450W Modular Power Supply x 1 24 Pin + P8/P4
2 x 2GB G.Skill RipJaws 1600MHz DDR3 Dual Channel Memory Kit

Install all went OK once I worked out some of the case cabling and I need to tidy the cabling up a bit, although there is not a great deal of room in the case!!

Issues
1. 1.5TB drive cannot be seen in My Computer although it shows up in Device Manager.....any ideas?
2. Stock cooler is too loud and I need to replace....any suggestions?

Last edited:

ollyrayns

looking good, just about to build my first HTPC, at the moment im using my i7 pc as one, so a bit of a downgrade because using a 775 socket motherboard for the media center.
:thumbsup:

bubsy83

Is the 1.5tb drive the primary or secondary? im guessing secondary if your using a 40gb SSD

If it is secondary you probably need to partition it to make it show in my computer.

Windows has its own tool for this job - called 'Disk Management'. Unlike 'My Computer', it shows every drive connected to the system - formatted/partitioned or not. Access it by Right clicking on 'My Computer', and selecting 'Manage'. In the left-hand pane, select 'Disk Management'