First experiences with Mac the Ripper

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by Gregorski, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. Gregorski

    Gregorski
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thought I'd post on my first experience with this application. I've heard lots of good things about it. I want to rip my DVD library. Initially i just want straight copies with the possibility of converting to another format later if i think the quality is going to be high enough.

    I happened to have been watching Casino Royale in my normal DVD player so the disc was to hand and that's where i started.

    Installation of MTR was no problem, it read the disk fine. When it started the rip it encountered many bad sectors (a protection measure I believe on the disk). However it looked like it had got to the end of the disc, but then it started doing something with all the bad sectors it had found, namely writing lots and lots or .vob files which i can only imagine are completely empty. I stopped it when it reached 70Gb's worth of files.

    The DVD won't play from my hard disk in Front Row.

    I don't know if I've been unlucky in choosing a well protected disk, or whether I've done something wrong. Can anyone point me in the right direction. I'm using version 2.6.6.
     
  2. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,546
    I've not had any issues with MTR on anything I've ripped.

    I suggest you try again with a different disc.
     
  3. Gregorski

    Gregorski
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +2
    I will. I just haven't had time. I was just wondering if this happened a lot, but sounds like it doesn't.
     
  4. gerbilly

    gerbilly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +94
    try handbrake.
     
  5. gasman1

    gasman1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Elstree, Herts
    Ratings:
    +48
    The general advice seems to be use MTR for the ripping process, then encode using handbrake. Reason being there is less stress on the DVD drive this way.
    Never had any problems myself with MTR, whereas handbrake often seems to crash converting avi's so use isquint.
     
  6. Gregorski

    Gregorski
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was going to use handbrake for the future encoding, but MTR for creating a disk copy. I'll give some other disks a go and see whether it's just this one.
     
  7. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,546
    I've been using Handbrake for converting files but find it takes a hell of a long time to do so, although the results are very good in terms of PQ.

    VisualHub was quicker, but I like the PQ from Handbrake.

    MTR for ripping DVDs though for me.
     
  8. Dave Bartram

    Dave Bartram
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +61
    I've had a few issues with MTR when encoding my DVD collection (300 ish) bad sectors etc so I went back to DVD Shrink / Decypter / Ripit4me with Windows under VM Fusions. Get a better hit rate:)
     
  9. stuart07970

    stuart07970
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Slough
    Ratings:
    +359
    try the free 7 day trial of RipIt

    I did and after my third trial - 'gulp', actually bought it!:smashin:
     
  10. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    try fairmount too. free download and it lets you use finder to drag a copy of your DVD to anywhere you want.

    but yes, its a bit of a minefield on the mac.
     
  11. hutch

    hutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    6,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,224
    MTR wont rip any DVD which is a different region to the region the drive is set to.

    Not bad if you have an older MB with a Superdrive which can be made RPC1 but a swine if you bought a new Alu MB which cant be made Region-free :(
     
  12. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,546
    But that's the Drive's fault and not MTR though isn't it?
     
  13. Gregorski

    Gregorski
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +2
    That doesn't worry me as all my DVD's are region 2
     
  14. cw2k

    cw2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Version 2.6.6 is about 4 years old and so can't copy with newer protections (as used on Casino Royale).

    Newer versions are available but you have to pay for them and they are a pain to get hold of.
     
  15. Gregorski

    Gregorski
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +2
    I had a feeling that might be the case. I may well end up with a commercial application instead in that case. I'll give the RipIT free trial a go an see how I get on. I'd like something whcih is going to work well because I'm going to be doing a lot of this stuff.
     
  16. cw2k

    cw2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    If you have windows running in bootcamp or virtualization software like parallels, vmware or virtual box you can use the free tools such as dvdfab decryptor to rip the disc.
     
  17. Gregorski

    Gregorski
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't, but I have my work laptop :) They don't appreciate installing 3rd party apps though but I could probably install it on my external disk. Would mean that I don't wear out my shiny macbook DVD drive too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...