1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First DVD recorder.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by chilpillphil, Dec 23, 2003.

  1. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want a DVD recorder to copy over my videos and to copy from my sky plus

    How easy is it to back-up (ie copy) my existing dvd movies, films and dvd's such as the office, and on a tight budget - what recorder do you recomend?

    Andrew
     
  2. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    No recorders will copy protected material out of the box. You have to buy expensive leads to overcome the protection, and it is probably better to use a computer for this as once you have a dvd recorder in a computer there is free software available to allow back-up of complete dvd's.
    Remember that many video's, particularly disneya are well protected, as are films from sky box office etc.
     
  3. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I do not condone copying but unfortunately discovered that I could do it with my Philips DVDR70 and Compacks 5000 (Safeway). No special leads are needed and it seems to copy any DVD, any region and NTSC discs. I have never done it since - honest.

    Anonymous!
     
  4. clayts450

    clayts450
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    Ivan - are you saying CGMS/A is disabled as well on the DVD5000, as well as "the other" ? If so that's incredible :)
     
  5. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i only would copy as a back-up, and to keep the originals in good condition (as i said)

    I would also like to copy my videos, so i can chuck out the vcr.

    Might risk it, or just only buy a pc dvd recorder.
     
  6. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Clayts450

    Absolutely - although I don't really know what CGMS/A is! When I first got the DVDR I was trying (for experimentation only!) to backup a DVD using a different player. I knew about Macrovision and had the old Bugblaster in use but I got the 'Copy Protected' message. I was going to give up but thought I'd give the Compacks a rattle and, hey presto it worked like a charm.

    Thanks for all the good info on your site by the way. Merry Christmas and a happy new year.
     
  7. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    chilpillphil

    Yes you can go down the PC writer route but I don't know if it's worth all the hassle. You'll need analogue input for copying tapes and the feed from your sky+ box. I'd recommend a set top box.
     
  8. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im confused, so what do i need to buy, i want to get the panasonic dvd recorder for £250

    Will this be ok
     
  9. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    That would do the job OK - doesn't write to - RW though, only RAM. So if you record to RAM you won't be able to play your recording on the vast majority of other players.

    For archiving etc I'd say go to +RW (but '-' format is good and has its advantages OK). No discussion phelings et al - it's the time of goodwill to all men :)
     
  10. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn, thats pointless then, if i carnt play it on my other sony dvd player
     
  11. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    chilpillphil

    Well the Panasonic will record to - R and you could play that on your Sony, but -R is a write once format only. But if you intended to keep everything you recorded it would do.
     
  12. chilpillphil

    chilpillphil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i suppose, ATM i can just use sky plus and copy the thinks i really want to keep

    thanks

    ill see how much they are at my local store,
     
  13. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kenfowler exaggerates slightly-the lead from
    www.sonel.com
    that allows copying is £19.99.Hardly expensive,and far superior to any black box device
     
  14. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,820
    It is to stop copies made from commercial DVD's to a DVD Recorder or other digital device. It also affects the audio if you try to record digitally to minidisc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...