First DVD created on E85 and a little help please !

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by HMHB, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    Ok, I've managed to transfer stuff from my Sky+ hard disk onto the E85 hard disk, the first problem was when I realised I should have read the manual and hadn't got it set to enable High Speed dubbing, but not to worry I will just do it in SP mode. I've finalised the DVD and it plays back fine on the recorder and on my Pioneer 565A, but won't play back on my aging LG player. On this it displays the initial menu but then goes into "Stop" mode when I try and play it - any ideas about this ?
    This may be the excuse I've been looking for to ditch the old LG player for something else so I would be looking for something that would cope with DVD-RAM as well as the -R disks I'm going to produce. What is the playback like on the E55 - this will be a 2nd system in the bedroom so it doesn't have to be the absolute best to be honest. I'm wondering if it's worth spending the extra on getting the E55 so that I can record from the standard Sky box in the bedroom as well.
     
  2. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm afraid that could be your problem. Some older DVD players (usually over 3 years old) will not play these discs. How old is it?

    Check here for compatibility:
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers

    Alternatively, try a different brand of media.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    It's probably 2 to 3 years old. It plays DVD-R discs that I've created backups on using DVDShrink. I wonder if it's because On the first menu I've only got one thumbnail, therefore the result on the DVD may be one big file instead of a few smaller ones ? Just guessingas I've no idea how the E85 writes to DVDs
     
  4. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are these the same brand as the ones you use on the E85?

    No, that shouldn't have anything to do with it.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    These are different brand to the ones I use with DVDShrink. The one I'm having problems withis a Verbatim, whereas the ones that work are unbranded :confused:
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    I won't have this problem again as I've just ordered an E55 for use in the bedroom :smashin:
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    Just to add to this, I let my mate have a DVD I burned on the E85 and he gets and error on his main Sony DVD player c13:00 (dirty disk) but it plays fine on his cheapo DVD player upstairs (newer than the Sony). This again was a Verbatim disc like the one I had problems with on my old LG, could this be related ? Am I doing something wrong ?
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    By the sound of it the disk you have burnt is fine - it's just the Sony is being fussy. TBH Sony DVD players are well known for that particular trait. You could try using different branded media (Verbatim are normally fine but trying another brand never hurts) but unless you got a batch of dodgy media it's unlikely to make much of a difference.
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    I've just done a search and found thousands of Sony owners with these errors ! I've burned some more on other brands of discs so will let him try these to see if it's the Verbatim ones that his player doesn't like.
     
  10. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    No, his Sony DVD player won't play any of the 3 different brands I've tried on the E85 :confused:
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,344
    Just to complete the story. If my mate copies the DVDs I created on the E85 on his PC (using Nero) they work OK on his Sony player.
     

Share This Page

Loading...