1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First dust cleaning session a success !

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Bristol Pete, Aug 24, 2003.

  1. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    After posting for advice on removing dust blobs, I decided to go for it and had a go yesterday.

    Well, its been a success and its as clean as a whistle now:)

    So thanks to the usual suspects Kramer, gothmog et al.

    Mind you took me two hours to find out that you need to remove 8 screws and not 6.....:suicide:

    Cap:smashin:
     
  2. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you got through it ok :)

    Hopefully it won't re-occur too soon ;)

    -- Jon
     
  3. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    there is something I did not admit to when I posted the other day....if you can recall, Kramer suggested that I may have been 'careless' cleaning the air filter.

    Well, he must have some kind of sixth sense as belive it or not, after my first filter clean I actually put the filter in upside down for about two days.............:(

    Yes, what an idiot.....learning curve and all that!!!

    Dont tell him though, you know what hes like LOL...

    Cap:smashin:
     
  4. calibos

    calibos
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +33
    Back to front you mean? You cant put the filter in upside down what with the finger grip thingy and all :D AE300 owner right??

    Anyway another tip kramer gave me was when cleaning the filter you should actually hold the hoover nozzle at the filter vent as you pull the actual filter out, as dust can be dislodged during the removal process possibly falling farther inside the vent. When you clean the filter and reinsert it this dust is now behind the filter and the next time you switch on is sucked into the PJ. Thus any dislodged dust is sucked into the hoover instead of falling deeper inside the PJ during filter removal.
     
  5. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    sorry, thats what I meant - back to front.

    Thanks for the cleaning tip also:clap:

    Cap:smashin:
     
  6. Insp.Gadget

    Insp.Gadget
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can leaving dust on the panels for a long period harm the pj in any way ? I ask because I got a dust spot on my ae300 at about 70 hours (only on 100 now) and don't want to take the risk of taking it pieces to get rid of it (it isn't really all that noticeable). If it doesn't do any harm then I'll leave it until I get some more noticeable ones or more hours on the clock :)

    Thanks
     
  7. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    I was worried about that too.

    I was concerned that the heat may cause the dust to burn onto the panels in some way, however, its totally clear post cleansing and I recommend it.

    Let me know if you need a talk/walk through.......;)

    Cap:smashin:
     
  8. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    I did mine week or so ago after following the threads here. Success!!

    I know what you mean about the screws. I thought the cover was a bit stiff. I tugged and tugged to bring it off then noticed the other 2 screws :blush:

    If you have a blob I would not worry about cleaning it out. Its a piece of cake. The only upset I had was £5 for a tiny can of air from London Camera Exchange!
     
  9. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Paid £10.99 for a gert big 'un.

    £10.99 for air.....I mean, c'mon.

    Should last though.

    Mind you, its quite good fun turning it upside down and spraying the wifes toes though :)

    Cap.
     
  10. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't know the half of it m8 :cool:

    Glad you got it sorted & oh, BTW, I like the new wallpaper ;)

    :p
     
  11. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    how did you know that?

    are you stalking me and the missus? :):):):)
     
  12. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hi Captain Benefit,

    can you give me a step by step guide to removing dust blobs on the 300. One appeared on one of my units last night.
     
  13. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    1. Turn the PJ upside down.

    2. remove 8 screws. (including the foot screws).

    3. Remove the lid.

    4. Turn PJ to stand in its base.

    5. Refer to pic.

    6. Spray a can of air, holding it upright into points marked by red arrows. ( these are the three panels).

    7. replace lid and 8 screws.

    8. job done.

    Hope this helps,

    Cap:smashin:
     
  14. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Thanks for that. Looks simple. I will have a go later this weeks. :eek:
     
  15. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Well gave it a go and took less than 5 minutes. :clap: All I have to do is test it out later tonight (when the 2ft 6" monsters gone to bed). Now what shall I test it with....mmm. :D

    Compressed air from camera shop £8.99. Advice from you priceless.

    Thanks
     
  16. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    no worries mate,

    Just giving back to the AV forums community.

    Hope all the dust is cleared, if not, just fire a bit more air in there.

    As for testing it, I recommend NARC - rent it or buy it, its a must see film:lesson:

    Regards,

    Cap:smashin:
     
  17. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Yeah got it but watched after too many Stellas (if theres such a thing?) got confused or bored need to watch again sober.
     
  18. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    OK bad news the dust blob is still there after 2 attempts. So kind of figured it may not be dust and could have been ther all along (I thought I would have noticed it by now though).
    This thing only seems to show on very dark scenes, it kind of looks like a slightly lighter blob almost with a greenish tinge?
    It cannot be the lens because when I rotate either the focus or the zoom it stays in the same place.

    So anyone got any ideas?
     
  19. dcullen302

    dcullen302
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hiya jack

    just wondering if you have managed to resolve the problem or is it still there or is it even a dust blob?

    cheers

    d
     
  20. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    This probably isn't much help but what you describe sounds just like the blob I had and it cleaned off.

    Have you tried pulling the focus right in or pushing right out to see if it is possible to get the blob into focus. I may be wrong but if it comes into focus and the focus bevel is way off its position when the menu text is sharp, the blob may be a long way from the LCD panels and may be in the optics somewhere. I'd be tempted to try to exchange it.

    I thought I could live with mine as I did not want to cause more harm than good opening it up, but it just bugged me more and more.
     
  21. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    To be honest I havent messed around with it since my last post. I have tried the focus thing but it never came into focus so hopefully its good news. I will have a play around when I get some time. Its not really noticeable unless you really look for it when a dark scene is showing.

    I will post when Ive had a fiddle.

    PS just re-read this and maybe I shouldnt have wrote that last line.:devil:
     
  22. calibos

    calibos
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +33
    I seemed to remember that someone a while back said you could get the compressed air in Woodies, so last week I headed of to my local woodies to find some. They hadn't got any and suggested I try the electrical suppliers up the road. The electrical suppliers didn't know what i was talking about! Dejected, I did a search for 'dust' and found this thread......Camera Shop..........Of course, why didn't I think of that! So I finally set aside the time to visit the local camera shops. Just heading out the door and the 'old dear' asked if I could pick up some milk in Tesco's on my way. Walk past the stationery/computer supplies section in Tesco's on my way to the milk aisle and what do I spot out of the corner of my eye? Vivanco Air Duster!! Exactly what I was looking for! If I had have known I would have sorted my PJ dust problem weeks ago! :D :D

    So for anyone needing to dust their panels, Try Woodies, Camera shops, PC World etc ......................and your local Tesco's! :D :D
     
  23. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I too have a green blob in the centre of the screen.
    Visible on dark scenes.
    I have yet to try the compressed air because I am a complete whimp.
    Is there a possibility it is on the reverse side of the lense as a spec of dust. If so, can the lense come off for cleaning?

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  24. eddiethehead

    eddiethehead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi all, nice place you have here :hiya:
    Sorry for resurrecting this old thread, but i think i'm having similar dust problems on my ae500, and someone kindly pointed me in your direction.

    The thought of taking the pj apart scared the bejesus out of me at first, but reading some comments here (particularly Captain Benefit), i'm considering giving it a bash!

    A couple of quick questions i hope you can help with.

    I take it that at no time should you actually touch the LCD ribbon cables?

    Do you blow the air only onto the bits of the ribbon showing, or where they go down into the optical path as well?

    Any other advice or encouragement gratefully received.

    Please be gentle with me, i'm a pj newbie.

    Cheers,

    Mark.
    :smashin:
     
  25. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,983
    Nope. If it were on the lens, it wouldn't be a specific colour. It has to be on one of the LCDs. Sorry. Time for some courage (not the Dutch kind).....
     
  26. Off The Fence

    Off The Fence
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North West London
    Ratings:
    +11
    ...or on one of the faces of the prism block (as with my Z2 :rolleyes: ).

    *sigh*
     
  27. Keir

    Keir
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This thread finally gave me the confidence to bust open my PTA-100 and try and blast those evil dust grains out...with no effect!

    On the plus side it was very easy to open and close the case, just try and not drop all the cables down the back of your wardrobe when you do it (DOH!)

    So, any suggestions? I have 3 greenish blobs on various parts of my screen, they can be brought into focus (not sharp focus but certainly made less blurry) by messing around with the focus on the lens. They weren't there when I got it, but have appeared at various points over the last two years- not too annoying, but I would definitely like to get rid of them.

    Do I just need to try it again, and not be so stingy on the compressed air or is there something else I should be trying?

    Thanks!

    Keir
     
  28. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did you definately fire the compressed air into the little holes near the ribbon cables? Just checking..
     
  29. Keir

    Keir
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I did, but I was a little nervous about frying the whole thing, so it could well be worth giving it another go. One of the blobs has been there a while now, but the other two are definitely more recent, so they shouldn't have welded themselves on there quite yet!

    Keir
     
  30. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I borrowed a compressed air canister from work with a long tube nozzle.
    I blew it a couple of times to release any liquid gas the very carefully aimed the tube into the holes and blew gently, not full blast. Not tilting or inverting the can!!
    It cleared like a dream. I am convinced this is dust in your case and should be removed with a little patience.
    I wish you the best of luck.

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...