First attempts with new camera.

Johnny Thunder

Hi everyone.
I have just bought myself a Canon EOS 350D, which is an upgrade from a Fuji "bridge" camera.
The family decided to have a day out yesterday, and ended up at High Force.
I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to have a go with the camera, and play around with some settings ie. aperture and shutter speeds.
After viewing the results, I need to learn a lot more and go back for a second visit to get better pictures.
I have no knowledge of manual settings, except for some advice which was given to me on these forums a few months ago.

Basically, what I am hoping for, is honest, brutal advice on how I should have approached the photography.
The conditions were overcast and dull.

011.jpg

019.jpg

021.jpg

024.jpg

030.jpg

031.jpg

033.jpg

Thank you for any advice you can give me.

John.

Stu284

Hi mate, photos look pretty good to me :thumbsup:
i also just ordered a 350D as my first dslr, can not wait for it to arrive now :)

denno75uk

For a first attempt with the Canon they look pretty good. The compositions are generally ok, articularly the ones of the kids and the wider aspect waterfall ones.
Obviously the weather was a big downer for photography, but a bit of tweaking on the computer could improve contrast and colour to make them sing a bit more.
Chaps who know more about it than I will hopefully comment, but the main thing I'd say for these shots is tripod. The dull weather seems to have limited the shutter speed quite a bit (although seeing the stats would help). The first shot looks like it might be suffering a bit from the limits of hand holding and with a trpod you could have afforded a bit more exposure to really make the water smooth. There is the whole business of filters for long exposure work though.
All in- deffo on the right road.:thumbsup:

T0MAT01

All in- deffo on the right road.:thumbsup:

Agreed, these look good... especially for a first attempt.