• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

First attempt at a home cinema conversion

ThePowster

Established Member
Hi folks :hiya:

Newbie here starting my very own first DIY project at the tender age of 36 :laugh::blush:

OK my plan is to turn my living room into a home cinema, so to start with my first project is to build a radiator cover which spans the whole length of my living room as my radiator isnt central and am a tad OCD :laugh:

So, I have built my rad cover and I am very proud of that and today I ordered Black Faux Leather Vinyl Upholstery Fabric to cover it in.

So my question is ...

How can I cover the MDF in this fabric in the cheapest most cost effective way possible ?

I have looked at sealing the MDF but the sealant is £25 and then I looked at 3M spray glue but I dont want to be spraying lots of that in my living room as my rad cover is approx 3.5m long.

So I wanted to ask would this product be ok and do the job of both sealing the mdf and at the same time adheering the vinyl to the mdf ?

UniBond Super PVA Adhesive Sealer & Primer 500ml, 5010383000165

And this is where I am with it:

80188426.jpg

I am worried if I try this and get it wrong I'll have to re-buy the vinyl and waste a lot of money so I came here for some advice.

Many thanks in advance.

Matt :)

Last edited:

bighairybloke

Established Member
Should be ok, but check on a bit first. Id use carpet adhesive spray personally.

Steve

Carlclaire

Standard Member
Hi cubecrazy I would use a cheap staple gun found in a diy shop or pound shop so you can stretch the fabric nice and tight and achieve a neat finish hope this helps

ThePowster

Established Member
Thanks for the reply guys :)

Any ideas on what kind of staple gun I need ? I have a stationary one but I am guessing that wont work.