First attempt at 5.1 surround sound (PS3, Sky HD) - Am I doing this right?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jimbo3176, Apr 25, 2007.

1. jimbo3176

jimbo3176

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently purchased a Sony KDL-32V2500 screen, PS3 and Sky HD. The PS3 and the Sky HD box are connected via HDMI to the two 'HDMI in' ports in the back of the screen. I would like to achieve 5.1 surround sound from the PS3 and the Sky HD box.. and I naively rushed into buying a Sony DAV-DZ230 thinking that it must have the necessary inputs because its new and kinda matches the telly.

:oops:

I am completely new to this, so I have done some homework (reading this forum and others late at night - like now), but I couldn't find a post that answered my queries 100% and I want to be sure in case I purchase the wrong thing again. I have come to the conclusion that I think I need:

An AV receiver with a minimum of 2 optical inputs
    An digital optical lead to run the audio from the PS3 to the receiver
    An digital optical lead to run the audio from the Sky HD box to the receiver
    A set of 5.1 speakers

I have a budget of about £1000.. for the receiver I am looking at the Sony STR-DA1200ES in black, mainly because it's not too pricey and matches up nicely with my other Sony stuff. I now plan to use the PS3 for movies aswell as games so there is no need for a seperate DVD player.

For the speakers I really like the Mission M-Cube set.. I know the reviews of them seem to suggest you can get better sound for the same money.. but I am not an expert on sound and for me the look of them is as important as the sound.. and they look nice! I have been used to a £150 all-in-one system for the last 5 years, so I should notice an improvement I hope.

Here are my questions:
    1. Is this the correct way to connect these items?
    2. Is there anything else at all that I need to buy to make it work?