First Air Filter Clean (gulp!)

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Gillykid, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    After giving my AE500 a good run in, I have now managed to clock 100 hours in less than two weeks! :D

    I intend to clean the filter as recommended and have had a search through the forums for tips, etc. After piecing suggestions together with the projectors instructions these are the steps I will probably take:

    1) Clean the exterior of the projector (especially around the filter first)

    2) Using a distant vacumn cleaner, to keep the dust away from the filter as you take it out.

    3) Pick off big lumps of dust then run the filter through a bowl of water (worrying part!!)

    4) Dry the filter and Re-insert

    5) Clean the lens with a camera lens cloth...

    How does this sound - about right? The vacumn cleaner seems a bit odd to me, as does the bowl of water! What do you guys do?

    Cheers

    G
     
  2. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I dont have that much trouble cleaning my Philips just slide out the filter holder every 100 hours and with a Dyson at a safe distance i.e. dont suck it in to the Dyson . Jim
     
  3. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I dont have that much trouble cleaning my Philips just slide out the filter holder every 100 hours and with a Dyson at a safe distance i.e. dont suck it in to the Dyson . Jim
     
  4. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I dont have that much trouble cleaning my Philips just slide out the filter holder every 100 hours and clean with a Dyson at a safe distance i.e. dont suck it in to the Dyson . Jim
     
  5. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I dont have that much trouble cleaning my Philips just slide out the filter holder every 100 hours and clean with a Dyson at a safe distance i.e. dont suck it in to the Dyson . Jim
     
  6. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I dont have that much trouble cleaning my Philips just slide out the filter holder every 100 hours and clean with a Dyson at a safe distance i.e. dont suck it in to the Dyson . Jim
     
  7. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I dont have that much trouble cleaning my Philips just slide out the filter holder every 100 hours and clean with a Dyson at a safe distance i.e. dont suck it in to the Dyson . Jim:thumbsup:
     
  8. Jones

    Jones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think jimcarney doesn't have much difficulty cleaning his Philips, he just slides out the filter holder every 100 hours and cleans with a Dyson at a safe distance.
     
  9. William123

    William123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
    Ooooer ..... wish I had a Dyson :D
     
  10. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol :rotfl:

    Any other tips out there?
     
  11. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,512
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +3,016
    That's a tough question, but I vaguely remember a post about a dyson and sliding a filter out.... :)

    Gary.
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +877

    :rotfl: Ha Ha Fukin'superb!!!

    PM jimcarney, I am sure I read somewhere that he just slides his filter out and cleans it with a Dyson every 100hours or so, from a safe distance of course.
     
  13. o THE CHAD o

    o THE CHAD o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,480
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +83
    funniest thread ive read in a long time.....
     
  14. FIZZBIN2003

    FIZZBIN2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've had my AE300 for three months now and have put about 45 hours on it so far so still a while off before my first clean - believe that the guidebook says after every 100 hours - but I too am a bit nervous about it.

    Good to see I am not the only one - I will check back on the forums when the big day arrives.

    Bit concerned to see mention of washing filter in bowl of water though - are you kidding?!?:eek:
     
  15. dan_wade

    dan_wade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    have you got any pics of you taking your AE500 apart and cleaning it? Im getting up to a 100 hours use, and already have a small dust blob, so need to get inside and give it a clean.

    Cheers,
    Dan.
     
  16. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    :oops: I kept losing connection when I posted that thread so I did not know if it had been posted Ill check the forum next time:suicide: Jim
     
  17. Truecelt

    Truecelt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My filter's just flew up the Dyson, any help?
     
  18. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +877
    Ha Ha !!
     
  19. Synchronicity

    Synchronicity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +213
    Im up to about 200 hours on my Z2 and havent cleaned the filter yet:(

    Ive had no problems whatsoever yet and Im a bit reluctant to do anything in case it all goes horribly wrong;are there any indications that the filter needs to be changed or is it something that just has to be done,regardless?
    Cheers,
    JB:smashin:
     
  20. Darryl D.

    Darryl D.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    JB, reduced air flow from a clogged filter will affect cooling and presumably lamp life. It would be interesting to compare temperatures before and after a clean (not sure if you can do this on z2 but temp can be accessed on ae500 menu).
     
  21. Synchronicity

    Synchronicity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +213
    hmmmm,any Z2 owners know if theres a way of checking the temp?This sounds like an ideal way to check if the filter needs cleaning.
     
  22. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +309
    Does it have to be a Dyson.

    I have a hoover.

    Could that prove tricky ?

    Cap :)
     
  23. William123

    William123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
    Captain, I think JimCarney has made a very forceful case in the use of a Dyson. Not wanting to kick up any dust, I think Jim would say you might be invalidating your PJ guarantee if you used any lessser substitutes. :)
     
  24. Quatermass

    Quatermass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone recommend a particular Dyson model for this job - is the DC07 up to the task or do you really need a DC11?

    I also noticed that Sanyo make vacuum cleaners now – wonder if they will be bringing out a special tool/attachment for cleaning Z2 filters? :zonked:
     
  25. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the record - first clean went well. Took the projector off the wall, used a vacumn (not a dyson ;) ) to help keep dust away as i lifted off the filter and gave it a good blow! Re-inserted, re-attached an all is well - no blobs in sight..... :clap:
     
  26. Oakmere

    Oakmere
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Caernarfon, N.Wales
    Ratings:
    +4
    Please no more innuendos!!!
     
  27. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nearly time for the Dyson again!!! ..Jim :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice