I went to upgrade my N80 last week and was told that everything on the phone will be lost (numbers, apps, images, mp3 etc). Only stuff on your SIM and Memory card is safe. So only go ahead with it if your happy you've backed up everything. Then all you will have to do is install the Apps again. I hadn't done a backup before so I didn't upgrade and haven't had a chance to go back yet.