1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firewire ...eh wire

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Dave N, Sep 28, 2002.

  1. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably slightly dumb question but is the cable I need to go from my Panasonic DS35 to my PC (which has a Firewire card) just a "bog standard" Firewire cable? Or , to put it another way, is Firewire a physical description as well as a protocol standrd? Assuming yes, where would I get such a thing?

    Thnx
    Dave
     
  2. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok I've half answered my own question...... think I need one of these (from Dabs site) Question now is which one? 4 or 6 pin?

    Thanx
    D


    FirePath IEEE1394 4pin(AV) to 4pin(AV) cable 1.8M
    Mfr code: F3N402F06-ICE
    Quicklinx: SLLWS
    8 now
    7 1-3 days £15.30
    £17.97
    Firepath IEEE1394 6pin(PC) to 6pin(PC) cable 1.8M
    Mfr code: F3N400-06-ICE
    Quicklinx: TCBWS
    8 now
    1856 1-3 days £9.90
    £11.63
     
  3. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'd be slightly surprised if it was either of those.

    Check the specs on the camera and the firewire card. If the camera end isn't a proprietary connector it will most likely be a four pin and the PC end will most likely be a six pin.
     
  4. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup yr right - the camera is four pin - although having difficulty finding out what the PC is as all the docs seem to have been "filed" away somewhere I cant find them.
    Thanks anyway
    D
     
  5. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Dave,

    PC end will almost certainly be 6 pin. Don't pay too much for a cable. Maplin will do you one for around £10
     
  6. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    D_M,
    Nice one - will double check what the PC is but looking like a 4-6 from Maplin as you say - thanks for your help.
    D
     
  7. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    Dave N
    Did you buy one of these cables in the end?
     
  8. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tomson

    Not yet - still trying to find out that the connector is on the Panasonic.
    D
     
  9. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,937
    I've never seen a camcorder with 6 pin or a computer with 4 pin.
    You just need a standard 4pin - 6pin firewire cable. There's nothing complicated about them.
     
  10. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,937
    Dabs Quicklinx: 17HXWS
    £16
     
  11. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Desmo (got yr 999 yet?:)

    OK thanks for that. I was hesitant because the socket on the camera, which does indeed have 4 contacts, looks nothing like the socket on the PC. I was expecting them to be same and was concerned that the camera was some sort of proprietary thing. The PC socket is labelled IEE1394 so I guess that one is correct. The camera one is about 3x5mm with an inward notch on the long side, contacts located in the middle - sound OK?

    Cheers
    Dave (Blackbird!)
     
  12. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,937
    Yeah, thats right mate. Definately the 4-6 pin cable you need.

    As for the 999, I'm not really interested in it that much. I mainly use my bike on the track now so it's not worth swapping to a new one. The 996 does me fine.

    I'm off to Nogaro in France next Friday for a four day track session :)

    This is what my bike looks like now

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Dave N

    Dave N
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jimbo,

    Top man - thanks for yr help on that. Cable ordered.

    Nice machine (no night riding then :) ). Thinking about some track days for next year - did a cornering course at Thruxton a year of so back - great fun but always nervous about dumping it. Blackbirds not the most agile round corners of course.

    Cheers
    Dave
     
  14. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,937
    No, I wouldn't have thought the Blackbird is the most agile bike on the road :)
    I warn you though, do one trackday and you'll want to do more. It can get pretty addictive. And expensive :(
    Broke my collarbone at Donington earlier in the year and had to do a few minor repairs to the bike. Still, it's all good fun.
     

Share This Page

Loading...