Firestick image quality vs Sky Q

kernow3011

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, a question from a newbie here so apologies for any silly questions.

I've been a Sky q user for 3 years and only decided to leave last month as the price became silly, and decided to try a firestick.

I first bought a Lite model and whilst it worked fine I was very disappointed with the image quality so took it back and bought the 4k Max hd.

Its now all set up and Apps added, including now tv which is of course pretty much Sky anyway, but I am still incredibly disappointed with the image quality.

Some shows look ok, but in the majority of case in comparison to the picture I used to get from Sky hd it is very flat and lifeless.

I still have the Sky q box as not yet sent it back so can access freeview programmes, so I did a like for like comparison against a mainstream bbc show, which was East enders.

On the sky stream the colours were bright and punchy, the detail was immense, you could see individual strands of hair on a persons head but when switching to the same programme through the firestick it was just, well, flat and lifeless. No punch, no brightness, and nowhere near as sharp. And of course all of these tests were done on same tv, at same time, so was a true like for like comparison.

I've seen a few youtube clips about changing some of the settings and tried those but nothing made much change at all.

I'm tempted to just pack it up and take this back but reaching out just in case someone can assist, but to date I'm less than impressed when compared to sky q - am I just expecting too much?

I had read online that a good stream hd programme through a Fire stick should be BETTER than sky, but I am finding totally the opposite. If sky is 10/10 I would rate the fire stick as about 6 - help please??

I would not rate bbc/now tv as quality far from it AppleTV+ Disney Amazon all produce excellent content. Move from sky q many years ago , mainly