Fire TV 4K HDR (Gen 3) Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by mtenga, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Ok mine arrives on release day, the 25th, and I’ve managed to resist the temptation of the Apple, thus far anyway.

    First thing I’ll be checking is whether YouTube is in HDR since this box supports VP9.

    Will be interesting to see how many titles have Atmos.

    Plan to plug it directly into my AVR.
     
  2. neuty

    neuty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,724
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cannock
    Ratings:
    +830
    Which box are you getting?
     
  3. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    The dongle, its the only one available at the moment. A new cube with hands free Alexa built in should be available over the coming months but has not been officially announced yet. For those with Alexa devices we can expect them to control the dongle hands free soon. That functionality is already in place in the States.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Delivery now saying 27-28 no longer 25th. Anyone else been bumped like this on pre-order?
     
  5. Getgaff

    Getgaff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,405
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +492
    Don’t know whether to wait for the new Amazon cube or import the new Roku Ultra 4660R from Amazon.com
     
  6. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    No word when the cube will be available. Supposed to be this year but might run into next, so that should make the decision easier. It’s why I’ve gone for the dongle now.
     
  7. Getgaff

    Getgaff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,405
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +492
    Pls let us know how you get on with the dongle when it arrives :lesson:
     
  8. welshy

    welshy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bangor, North Wales
    Ratings:
    +117
    yes, I'd like to know what audio it passes through and what appears on your AVR. :smashin:
     
  9. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Of course no probs. It will be the weekend of the 27th when I get hold of it and setup.

    I'm using Okja on Netflix as my first movie and that should be in Atmos. Somebody else might be able to test before then.
     
  10. ShadowTD

    ShadowTD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I'm interested to see whether the updated version of Android used on this box (7.1.2, which is a huge leap forward) will enable Kodi to finally bitstream audio. If it does, I'm in!
     
  11. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    I really doubt it but I’ve got a copy of MrMC so I’ll see. Coming on Wednesday now.
     
  12. ShadowTD

    ShadowTD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I would have thought that a new release would be required. The bitstream API came in with Android 6.0 so in theory it's possible!
     
  13. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
  14. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Complete screwup by Amazon and I am now not getting my box until November 4th :mad:

    Hope you lot are luckier than me and getting yours tomorrow.
     
  15. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    Mine arrived as a pre order from Argos this morning and it's sitting in my bag - along with beer. Don t know which one to open first when I get home...:confused:
     
  16. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Hope you chose the Heineken. People are reporting on AVS that it stays in HDR mode after playing that material. A blessing maybe that I was letdown.

    I chose a night of gin in preference to setting up my new ATV :D
     
  17. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    I'm a London Pride man myself and both are still bagged as the grandchildren are round...
     
  18. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Be interesting to see if you can reproduce the error. Do let us know.
     
  19. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    I'll be playing when they go night nights in am hour or so...
     
  20. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    I reproduced that problem plus several others but here's the shortlist.
    Wouldn't put my Hisense M7000 into HDR mode. I had to select HDR manually. But when it is in HDR it looks good.
    Had to take the TV out of HDR mode manually as well.
    Couldn't pair with my Harmony Ultimate and hub.

    It's probabky a TV thing. It's connected to a Marantz AVR and playing with the video output settings on that seemed to work around bit I'm having to switch the enhanced HDMI mode on and off a lot on my TV to get it to recognise that it's an HDR set.
    The display output options are limited for what is in effect a fully loaded piece of kit. As we know there's no 24fps mode at all - not even through any secret menus as yet. Also YcBcr is very limited as well as it's possible to switch between 4.2.2 and 4.4.4 - I suspect it's outputting 4.2.2.2 by default as my old Panasonic UHD player worked flawlessly in HDR on the same tv outputting 4.4.4...ive a feeling this is why it's not playing HDR ball on my set.
    Think I'll stick with it now though and see what comes along in the way of updates.
    Oh and there's no lossless sound on PLEX so I'm assuming there won't be on Kodi - all formats converted to DD+
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  21. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    Sorted the Harmony problem by rebooting the Harmony hub. Did that and it connected in seconds.
     
  22. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Managed to pick up one from Argos so returned the AppleTV and trying this instead

    Triggered HDR from YouTube and Netflix no sweat on my LG 2016 TV but like others it stays in HDR when you leave. That is connected directly to a 2015 Denon receiver.

    I had no problem connecting a Harmony Elite via Bluetooth but these days you have to add it as a keyboard for some reason, not that it matters.

    Despite having a lesser chip than the Gen 2 Box it is snappier around menus. Presumably that is to do with the new OS. Settings are all default.

    Okja only played in DD+ despite being Atmos on the Xbox. If anyone knows any Atmos enabled titles I’d be obliged.

    But most importantly HDR does look good.
     
  23. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    It can't do Atmos as yet...think it's coming though.
     
  24. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Okey doke thx. I had thought it was available at launch but perhaps not then.
     
  25. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    What display settings do you have yours set to get HDR straight away?
    The way to shut HDR down is to change inputs on your receiver I believe - then change it back and it should switch back to SDR
     
  26. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Nothing special but Deep Colour is enabled on the TV and receiver just pass through.

    Yes switching inputs and going back gets rid of HDR. Something they need to fix though.
     
  27. jakey

    jakey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    800
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +166
    Don't have that problem here, it switches HDR on when playing and off when stopping play without any intervention.

    2015 Denon X6200W
    LG B6

    The permanent 2160 video output and the permanent DD+ audio output is outrageous and needs fixing.

    I got quite excited when I saw HD audio pass through settings with MrMC but alas changes nothing, even decoding of HD audio to multi channel pcm is not working.
     
  28. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,589
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,897
    Are you plugged into the TV or receiver?
     
  29. jakey

    jakey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    800
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +166
    AVR
     
  30. Nobbler

    Nobbler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,892
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    Could you share your settings please? In particular the display settings on the FTV and the video output settings on the AVR...

    Many thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice