1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finding Tosh 210E RCE ok

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by apul, Jan 8, 2003.

  1. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
    sorry if this has been asked before, but im new to this place.
    i need to know how to find out if my multi regoin toshiba 210E is able to play region1 RCE discs as im gonna get a new tv(ntsc playback) and some R1 RCE superbit dvds
    thanks.
     
  2. Chairman

    Chairman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dunno how you can find out without trying an RCE disk. Mine isn't. It won't play xXx. Dunno is that's a good or bad thing :D.
     
  3. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
    oh well, dont know many people into this sort of thing so i wont be able to borrow one. might just have to buy and try.
    havnt seen xXx, dont think i'll bother :rolleyes:
    thanks
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    If the Tosh won´t play the Disc straight off, try the disc swap method. Load a non RCE R1 disc into the player, let it load up the Menu, then stop and put in the RCE disc. It should play, hopefully!

    Not all Superbit dvds are RCE either, despite some web sites saying that they are.
     
  5. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a tosh 210 multi it has played all my region 1 so far

    which releases are RCE anyway?

    I could tell you then if they work ok
     
  6. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    anyone know the multi-region hack for this player.

    thanks carl
     
  7. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
    cool, thanks jase, hopefully that will work when i get a RCE disc.
    sorry codling, mine came region free when i bought it.

    have a look at www.play.com and select the region 1 site, it says if any discs are RCE.
    must go revise now...:(
     
  8. Chairman

    Chairman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that. Just tried it and it worked :)
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    It´s where I get my discs from but they are wrong about the Superbit discs, not all are RCE (if any!). The only one that has caused a few problems is Panic Room (not on my players though).
     
  10. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    Hi Carl

    Most Toshibas need a Hardware modification of some sort, there are no hacks as such.
     
  11. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    thanks jase/apul

    not to worry

    carl
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    Yeah this is the same way as I get mine to play RCE disks. Never failed yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...