Finding the right camcorder. XLR, mpeg-4, and more

xaviarai

Standard Member
Reaction score
We may be asking to much here, but please help me make sense of the plethora of information and advertisements out there. We are looking to find a new camera for our linguistics lab (for linguistic analysis) under the price of $2000.

The problems we are having involve:
1-Upload time
the time we have available to upload the recordings. Since we ultimately need it to be in an mpeg-4 format (the forums and reviews I have read about converting into mpeg-4 taking at least 4:1 time), something that records in mpeg-4 would be ideal. Are there faster ways?
2-XLR input
we are using XLR professional headset microphones and would like to have the input on the camcorder. Most of them that I have looked at with the XLR input are well above our price range. Are there any I am missing? How well do the converter boxes work for the XLR input? I am new to all of this, are the converter boxes phantom power? We will be doing phonetic analysis and need the extracted audio to be clean and clear, I read some of the connectors degrade the audio quality.
3-Canon XA10 HD
we thought we hit the jackpot with this camcorder. XLR input, mpeg-4 recording ability, duel SD card slots, etc., yet, some nasty reviews about handle shaking on the XLR attachment comparing it to a baby's rattle made us turn and run. What's left?

Please note, I am new to all of this and have to look up most of the terms just to follow what people are saying, so simple and precise explanations are appreciated, links are greatly appreciated. If you know of any great introductory tutorials to help familiarize myself with terms and equipment that would also help! Please help, we are desperate and in a hurry to get this equipment for our linguistics lab before we begin elicitations.