finally settled on the G10, but newbie needs help

Wump

Standard Member
Hello, Thanks to everyone that helped out with my original query on which TV to go for.

I iwill be using the set for a fair amount of gaming but wanted to ask advice in general.

Bare in mind that I am literally a newbie here, I know next to nothing about new TV's and still have an old Sony Vega! It weighs approx. 3 metric tonnes I think!

So the question is really, do I have to calibrate? if so how do I go about this?

Do i need to 'run' the TV in for several hundred hours before I game on it? gaming sessions may well be 2-4 hrs but I am not averse to having a break! :D and turning off or whatevver for 15 mins or so.

Anything else that would be usefull to know?

Many many thanks for your help in advance!! :hiya:

IvanI

Novice Member
Hello, Thanks to everyone that helped out with my original query on which TV to go for.

I iwill be using the set for a fair amount of gaming but wanted to ask advice in general.
well hello fellow gamer! what will it be? x360 or ps3? :)

Bare in mind that I am literally a newbie here, I know next to nothing about new TV's and still have an old Sony Vega! It weighs approx. 3 metric tonnes I think!
hehehe, same thing here. I got V10 yesterday after 5 awesome years with Sony 36HQ100 36" CRT. Weighs at 98kg. O_O

So the question is really, do I have to calibrate? if so how do I go about this?
well, if you got the money and some professional calibrator (being a hardware device or a person who will do it for you) than do it.
However, some review sites post their post calibration settings so you can use those if you wish.

Do i need to 'run' the TV in for several hundred hours before I game on it? gaming sessions may well be 2-4 hrs but I am not averse to having a break! :D and turning off or whatevver for 15 mins or so.