Finally purchased TH-42PX70

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by JonA4, Sep 18, 2007.

  1. JonA4

    JonA4
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well we finally made a purchase, the Panasonic TH42PX70. We are only using it in SD quality at the moment and if I had to be honest, I'm a little disappointed with the picture quality (as yet). I'm sure this will change. Any hints and tips on the set up?

    SKY HD is being fitted Saturday.

    Can anyone tell me if a scart (RGB) to component is the same, better or worse quality than scart (RGB) to scart (RGB)?

    Cheers
     
  2. Timdog

    Timdog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +24
    When you get Sky HD just hook it all up using the supplied HDMI cable and all will be fine!
     
  3. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +593
    untill HD i assume you have set the sky box to RGB in the menu and got it connect to an RGB input on the plasma. Taken it out of Dynamic??? using a half decent RGB scart lead - not a cheap freebie one?

    it should look pretty sweet

    Dal
     
  4. MarkP80

    MarkP80
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdoon!
    Ratings:
    +110
    AS Dal said, check the picture mode in the setup menu - dynamic is awful, normal has the brightness waaaay too high, cinema is not far away from ideal. Note, cinema may look washed out when you switch between, but after a few minutes you will realise it is the best setting.

    Again, make sure you are sending and receiving an RGB signal, and not a composite down the scart. The picture should be pretty good!

    MarkP
     
  5. doopydug

    doopydug
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    AYE - have patience.

    When your new sky box is installed, it will upscale the sd to a very good level through the hdmi cable.
     
  6. devilyfish

    devilyfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes indeed the Sky HD will improve the picture somewhat through HDMI but in order to get the best picture i would suggest leaving the set a month or two to run in and then get an ISF calibration done on the screen.
     
  7. madfiddler

    madfiddler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +73
    oh yeah in the sky box service menus make sure in the picture settigns you have that set to RGB output too. You may also want to tweka the contrast setting in the same menu, but you will have to balance with contrast setting of the TV. I think your tv should show on screen when its getting an RGB signal....
     
  8. JonA4

    JonA4
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Sky box is outputting an RGB signal which is being picked up by the TV according to the AV input display when you turn on the Sky or DVD player. I'm looking forward to Sky HD to give me that extra quality. A part of me wishes I'd gone for the 37" though.

    Is component better, the same or worse the RGB?

    Next on my shopping list is an upscaling DVD player like the new Denon DVD-1940. Anyone got one yet? What's it like?
     
  9. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +593
    you stick with the 42" wont be long before you wish you had a got a 50" like i do :devil:

    in which case then wait for HD.

    stick with hdmi for sky hd and obviously get a new dvd player with hdmi. component will also accept HD so you could use that for your xbox 360 or ps3 if you have one or plan to get one.

    out of interest can you post your screen settings we should be able to get that picture looking better until the weekend :D

    Dal
     
  10. JonA4

    JonA4
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, give me an hour or so and they will be on here.

    Thanks for your interest. :clap:
     
  11. Nottman

    Nottman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gtr. Manchester
    Ratings:
    +5
    I can confirm what Timdog said - I have the same TV connected to the Virgin V+ Hi Def box via HDMI. The results with SD are considerably better than scart RGB or component
     
  12. JonA4

    JonA4
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Dal, these are my settings....

    View Mode NORMAL
    Contrast 55%
    Brightness 50%
    Sharpness 60% (LOOKS BLURRED WHEN TURNED OFF)
    Colour Balance NORMAL
    Colour Management OFF
    P-NR OFF

    I've read somewhere there are other settings that can be altered by pressing 2 buttons together. Any ideas to how to do it and what the settings are?

    Oh yes, Whats an ISF calibration?


    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...