1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally...it comes today

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by lei179, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well after weeks of reading post and taking you guys advise,i done the deed and bought a pwd6 yesterday, :thumbsup: i timed the price drop just right and saved over £200 in the process.Now im siting here looking out the window evertime i hear a vehicle pull up,its like being a kid again.

    Just wanted to thank you guys for your knowledge and advice,and ill probally need more of that in the comming weeks, thanks again :smashin:


    lei
     
  2. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am really really pleased for you.
    Enjoy!!
     
  3. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    :boring: still waiting.... ive had to leave the house for work,expected an early delivery,so Mrs lei179 is now waiting for it :rolleyes: ,the tension is too much. :laugh:

    lei
     
  4. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Bad news guys,left the mrs indoors to await delivery,she decided to pop out for five mins and returned to find a card on the floor,sorry we missed you!!!!!.

    arrrrrrrgggggghhhh!!
     
  5. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Nooooooo!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Always happens mate, its sods law..

    Never mind, take a couple of days off work and go pick it up tomorrow :)
     
  7. Shepski

    Shepski
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if your quick you can call the courier and ask them to try and re-delivery today. This happend to my when i got my plasma, called up citylink and they asked the driver if possible could he try again last job which he did :)
     
  8. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just rang them ,answerphone,tells me they will attempt to re deliver tommorow.So all being well (not me im feeling rather ill..if you get my drift) it should turn up.
     
  9. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    lets hope they don't unload it from the van and back a few times
     
  10. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12

    :laugh: what do you mean? i expect it to be droppped off in a van carrying nothing else but pillows and marshmellows :D

    heres hoping :thumbsup:
     
  11. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just take a deep breath, count to ten and just be thankfull that she let you have a plasma in the first place.
     
  12. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    :clap: ITS HERE.......just had a call from the wife,cant wait to go home now !
    only concern the tilt sensor was red,but she signed for it as tilted so i think im covered.Now to go home and start playing :smashin: i'll post some pics when it all up and running.Thanx to nexnix for a deal too good to mention.

    Lei
     
  13. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hope its alright!
     
  14. Fatti

    Fatti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    Got a PW6 turning up from AV-Sales tomorrow...wont sleep tonight :laugh:

    What the score with the tilt sensors? I get the impression they need to be transported vertically hence the specialist couriers, but what's the implications if the tilt sensor shows up red? How much would they need to be tilted in order for this to happen. There's a degree of tilt with wall mounting brackets, so I'd have thought it wouldn't go red unless it had been leant over a fair way.
     
  15. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    I agree, i just hope that it is ok when he opens the box and switches it on.
     
  16. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    :smashin: Thanks for the concerns guy,just to report that on arriving home,i checked the contents and it all seems fine,as for the tilt sensor,its just a plastic tab stuck on the side of the box,looks alot like those carbon monoxide things you get,it says on the sticker "if sensor is red accept shipment but check contents..you have 15 days to notify the courrier.
    theres a web site for those interested www.shockwatch.co.uk.(hope this is ok ?)

    Would you beleive i havent had it out hte box yet,nowhere to put it as i still have a 36" crt in the lounge,i cant wait till tomorrow :D


    Lei
     
  17. greyjackal

    greyjackal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine arrived today \o/ No tilt sensor on the box though which was a bit disconcerting but it was specialist TV couriers so I wasn't too worried.

    Although when they phoned while on their way and discovered it was a flat, they said they couldn't deliver as they weren't insured for heavy lifting up stairs - talk about disappointing. As it happens, the chap didn't realise my order was a plasma rather than a CRT so all was well :)
     
  18. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    well finally got to look at the screen today and first impressions,well i must say jaw dropping straight out the box,lowered the contrast and brightness to -15 or so still a great pic via cable(telewest) via js > vga.One queation though,how to connect dvd via js box but also running optical to amp ?how will i get sound ?

    cheers

    Lei
     
  19. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    :confused: The optical connection between the DVD and the amp is a completely different lead to the SCART that you have running into the RGB-2-VGA. Don't see the 'connection' ( :rolleyes: ) between the two.
     
  20. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Ok maybe im not thinking here, :blush: but to get sound from my cable box i run a phono to 3.5m jack cable from js to the audio jack of the plasma ....ok attatched a "test speaker" to plasma via spring clips,i get sound ...but if i connect dvd to js box theres no audio connection going to plasma from js box...confused so am i :confused: .

    LEI
     
  21. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't think that the js box does audio.
     
  22. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    ok this is what im thinking of doing,ive also got a component bnc double board and a scart board if i need them.I will hook up xbox to component when i get the hi def pack and run optical to 5.1 amp. I take it this is the 'cleanest' way to do things ?

    Thanks guys (photos soon)

    lei
     

    Attached Files:

  23. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    So its like this,plasma is now on the wall looking cool.....but....NO sound,im running the cable box via scart to js box then phono's from js to 5.1 amp no sound.If i put phono lead from js to plasma 3.5mm jack and connect speaker to plasma i get sound.My question is how do i incorperate my 5.1 amp into my setup(see above bmp).ive tried optical to dvd no sound where am i going wrong ??
    Oh on the plus side pic is fantastic !!!

    lei
     
  24. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    you are not going to get 5.1 sound from a couple of phonos.
     
  25. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Im aware of that,but how DO i connect my amp to plasma,so i dont need to use the speaker inputs on th plasma ??Remember im using js rgb>vga and this cable carries no audio on its own.So how do i connect my dvd, straight to scart or daisychain through cable box via js ???
     
  26. BigB@dJ@y

    BigB@dJ@y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Doesnt the cable box have seperate audio outs?
     
  27. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    no m8,telewest pace box 2 scarts thats it.
     
  28. quattro

    quattro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stafford
    Ratings:
    +16
    Think you would need a Quintro or similar, connect all the scarts to this then the RGB out to the JS box to the VGA on the plasma and phono from the quintro to your Amp.
     
  29. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    OK guys all sorted,damaged optical lead was the cause for dvd lack of sound,and i have phonos now going from js to 5.1 amp.

    thanks for all your help.

    Lei
     
  30. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Enjoy, hope to be purchasing one myself very soon :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...