1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally I can do true macro

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by kenlynch, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. kenlynch

    kenlynch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just bought a close-up adaptor for my Sigma 70-300 on ebay for 20 quid which converts it into a full 1:1 macro lens. Here's a quick sample of a hoverfly I took in my garden. The first is the full image and the second is a 100% crop, unfortunatley the crop is very soft because I had to severely compress the jpeg to be able to upload it so it doesn't show off the detail as much as it should.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RobertP

    RobertP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice.

    Don't know what your lens looks like but my 70-200 with spacer rings for macro ends up as a big 'ol lump just for taking small pictures :)

    The picture I took of the banknote has the hologram as 3/4 of the frame width so I would guess mine is not far from 1:1.

    The rings I'm using came from ebay.
     
  3. priceless

    priceless
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ken, i have this lens, can you send me the ebay link so i can purchase one of these adaptors?

    Thanks
     
  4. kenlynch

    kenlynch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. priceless

    priceless
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    he he, i already have one of those :) wondered what it was for.
     
  6. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,424
    I've the Jessops tubes but that aside what camera you using there Ken? And the flash; is it inbuilt or external, pretty nice though!
     
  7. kenlynch

    kenlynch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm using a 350D with it's built in flash. The Sigma has a nice working distance so the lens doesn't cause a shadow. My next purchase will probably be an external flash, probably a regular flash with an extension cord rather than a ring flash as I won't always be doing macro work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...