1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally gone for an RME 9632! Now some questions

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by owain_thomas, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    Well, after months of deliberation I've finally gone and got myself an RME soundcard to replace my Maudio Revo. I've just won one on ebay for £235 (brand new) so I'm pretty chuffed. I've ordered one of the AO4S daughter cards from a german company to go with it so should hopefully have all this stuff in the next couple of weeks! :clap: :clap:

    Now, to all you RME owners/experts out there, I've got a couple of questions:

    1. I think I've got the idea of how the analogue ouptus are going to work, is this right: the main card has a breakout cable which has two female phono sockets on it, I can connect these with normal phono-phono interconnects to my power amp. The daughter card has 4 TRS jacks on it so for these I need to get 4 TRS-phono cables and these will carry the remaining 4 channels to my power amp/sub. Or have I misunderstood it totally??

    2. I'm sure I read somewhere about being able to control the master volume of the RME using keyboard shortcuts (and therefore girder), can anyone point me in the right direction as I can't find the info anywhere now. Also is anyone doing this at the moment? how do you find it? Is it reliable enough that you don't have to worry about damaging your equipment (I'm a bit scared of losing my current physical volume control and just relying on software to stop my poweramp/speakers from blowing!).

    3. Has any one used their RME to take analogue inputs (such as, say from a Sky digibox) and route these through to their power amps? Is it easy to switch from this external source to PC DVD playback?

    thanks
    owain
     
  2. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    cheeky bump!
     
  3. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mark Ward has integrated volume control via girder and his pronto, I'm sure he will lend a hand if you drop him a PM.
     
  4. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    thanks john,

    any suggestions on the otehr stuff?
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Your correct in thinking that the daughter board has 4 mono outputs, the ae8 has 4 stereo outputs. Just connect to your poweramp using the correct cable.

    I'm not sure what will happen with routing audio through the card as I still use a processor in my main room.
     

Share This Page

Loading...