1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Filters on AE500?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by am1001aa, Apr 19, 2004.

  1. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I do find the brightness of the image from the AE500 to be a bit high.

    I know you can change the settings internally, but I'm interested in reducing the general level of light to improve blacks.

    Does anyone use a lens on the AE500?

    I used a Hoya FLD HMC lens on my old AE100.

    Should I use a similar one on the AE500 - if so what would the diameter be of the lens?

    cheers
     
  2. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    AFAIK, the filter size is the same.

    The exterior dimensions of the 500 are the same as the 300 which was in turn the same as the 100.

    Couldnt live without my FLD now. Much better.

    Cap :)
     
  3. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    the hoya filter will work with the 500, it screws inside the lens this time and not on the outer part of the lens like the 100, there are screw threads to hold it in place
     
  4. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually gave away my FLD filter when I sold my AE100 - stupid me.

    Is the Hoya HMC FLD the best one for AE500? If so I'll have to re-order it from the states.

    I want to reduce overall brightness and hopefully get better blacks.

    Thanks
     
  5. andrew constant

    andrew constant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +10
    is the hoya filter a 52mm thread for a AE500 ?
     
  6. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,474
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,118
    If you have a noticable green 'push' then the FL-Day is a good choice, but if the colours are balanced, then to darken the output, a neutral density filter might be what you're after.

    Do a search and see what the results bring up just to be sure.

    Gary.
     
  7. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I find the colours to be rather balanced. Perhaps a neutral density filter may be better.

    I bought my original filter from 2filter in the states.

    http://www.2filter.com/hoya/hoyasolidND06.html

    Which is a good choice from their webpage -

    Is the diameter that fits the AE500 52mm?

    There's 3 types of ND - ND2, ND4 and ND8
    I wonder if thats the amount of light cut out.

    cheers for any guidance - I think a few AE500 owners would be interested in filters.
     
  8. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    no its a 55mm thats what i used for my a300 which has the same lens as the 500, it screws into the inner ring and is a perfect fit
     

Share This Page

Loading...