Film production: advice requested.

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by gritstone, Sep 12, 2007.

1. gritstone

gritstone
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm a member of a social sports club.
    Traditionally they have produced an amusing play each year, which is entirely written, produced and performed by club members. It is performed to a club audience of about 100, during the annual club dinner.

It's been suggested that in future, rather than performing it as a play, it gets recorded as a video film and this recording is played back to the audience at the annual dinner. And I've been asked to 'scope it out'.

Initially the idea is very appealing - and would give many opportunities to provide a different performance to the original play format.

However, as a complete novice to this type of film making, I'd like to see if anyone on here has any advice/comments on this. Not least, is there any books/guidance around that might help me?

And - any idea's for how best to play a film to an audience of 100, in a public room (e.g. hotel)?

2. redsox_mark

redsox_mark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +620
    I’m not a filmmaker; more of a videographer and editor (amateur!). There are lots of books, courses etc on all aspects of filmmaking and videography.

One book I can recommend is this one
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Video-Shooter-Storytelling-Cameras-Expert/dp/1578202892

It’s focus is on shooting techniques and related items like lighting etc. It doesn’t cover writing a screenplay or directing a film.

Here is a link to some course material (from Australia) on film making; it is aimed at documentaries but should be helpful for any type of film.
    http://users.bigpond.net.au/kay.wand/video_course/guerrilla doc's web version.pdf

There are others on this forum who are filmmakers of one type or another who can help.