files larger than 4gb won't play on tv or ps

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by richmoor1, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. richmoor1

    richmoor1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have lots of my films which are stored on my external hard drive connected to my mac. i wanted to dispense with my dvds as they were taking up too much room. i now have quite a large library having spent the last few weeks doing this. I should have investigated first! it all seemed so easy and logical!
    my plan was to drag them to a usb stick and plug them into my new samsung tv or ps but the 4gb limit is proving to be an obstacle.
    Does anyone know how i can get around this problem. Currently my only option is to copy back to dvd which defeats the whole point.
    i can stream via wifi but the pictures are jerky and not consistent.
    my tv and ps are too far away to connect via ethernet.
    Help!
     
  2. anorax25

    anorax25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +141
    Use Homeplugs to connect TV/PS3 to network and stream that way.

    Unfortunately, it appears that most Smart TVs and certainly the PS3 only recognises FAT32 drives which, as you have discovered, will not allow files larger than 3.9GB.

    I have a couple of Dune Media players connected to the network via Homeplugs and in turn to my NAS and it all works flawlessly, even with large files.

    Col.
     
  3. richmoor1

    richmoor1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, it sounds like you may have solved my problem. A trip to Maplins later on today!
    I will let you know how I get on.
     
  4. anorax25

    anorax25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +141
    Just make sure you get a step up from the basic models i.e. AV200 or higher, depending on your budget.

    The basic ones tend to be 100Mb/s which is okay but not really future proof.

    They also have to be plugged directly into a Mains socket as most extension leads have smoothing circuitry which strips out the data signal. I'm told that cheap extension leads from places like Aldi, Poundland etc., tend to work as they don't have the smoothing circuits built in but, that's anecdotal info' only.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012
  5. richmoor1

    richmoor1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem solved! happy days finally years of trying to overcome wifi issues are over! It was so easy as well, no phaffing trying to get this to sync and all the other guff that normally makes me tear my hair out.

    Thanks so much, I can now get on with my life!
     
  6. anorax25

    anorax25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +141
    Glad it's all sorted!

    Col.
     

Share This Page

Loading...