Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

File server for Audiotron

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by fourtears, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. fourtears

    fourtears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have been using an Audiotron to pull files of PCs on my home network for years. The probelm is that there is not always a PC switched on. I used to have a dedicated PC that stayed on all the time just to hold the files, but that has died and took up too much space. I'm now looking for a simple hard disk with some kind of controller and an ethernet card. Commercial NAS solutions all seem too expensive. Can anyone suggest something, apart from building another PC? I thought of using my xbox but never got round to mod-ing it.
     
  2. pentode

    pentode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West London, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I use a Netgear WGT634U with an attached 120MB USB HDD with my Audiotron.

    I understand that the Linksys NSLU2 and the Buffalo Linkstation also work.
     
  3. fourtears

    fourtears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    thanks for the advice. i am now using a linkstation and it is exactly what i was looking for.
     
  4. ramjam55

    ramjam55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hows the linkstation ? I'm looking at using one to attach to my network and stream mp3 off it and also connect it to a router using 100mbit connection so I can then stream video off it via Xbox media center.

    Cheers
     
  5. fourtears

    fourtears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    the linkstation is doing the job just fine. I'm using i-tunes on my mac laptop and have just directed it to store music on the linkstation. The audiotron picks them up from there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice