FFDshow settings?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Onyxia, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. Onyxia

    Onyxia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi, I'm having some trouble getting resizing using lancos to run smoothly on my computer.
    Spec is A64 3500+ oced to 2.3ghz (mild oc), 1 Gig RAM, x800xt.

    Using the info at the start of this thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=469093&highlight=ffdshow the playback is jerky. I've tried a few different ffdshow compliations from non sse, sse and sse2 without success. Can anyone shed some light on this and provide some of thier own custom settings and setups? :lease:
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +28
    What parameters have you set? What version are you using? Have you used Task Manager to monitor CPU usage? What visual problems are you seeing: judder, tearing, etc.?

    FFDSHOW is very susecptible to new releases running like dogs, I still run the 20041012 version because nothing released since makes as far as I can see make any useful difference to SD DVD playback and on a 3G P4 with an ATI 9600, Lanczos 2 with Chroma Sharpening at 1.0 scaling to 1920x1080 outputting 1280x720 uses no more than about 90% CPU so you shouldn'e expect to see any problems at all with your setup.
     
  3. Nick Cartwright

    Nick Cartwright
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I second that, I use the same version and resize to 2x Lanczos 2, Luma sharpen 1.5 and sometimes a bit of unsharpen mask too. I have an Athlon 2800+ and a Nvidia FX 5700 ultra, 512 gig memory and I see about 70-76% cpu.

    Try an older cersion, or an sse version if you are on P4's as they are optimised.
     
  4. Onyxia

    Onyxia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm using the latest celtic druid build. 20051105 http://ffdshow.faireal.net/

    Settings
    Levels - Check
    Blur & BR - Check -> Denoise3d Luma 0, Chroma 0.5, Time 5
    Resize - Check -> 1776x1000, Luma Method - Bicubic (runs ok) 90%+ cpu usage
    setting the luma method to Lanczos, parameter 10, luma sharpen 0.5, chroma sharpen
    0.0 results in 100% cpu usage and dropped frames.
    Output - Check -> YV12 - deselected everything else.

    I tried 20041012, all sse versions. They run about the same speed.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +28
    Never use Lanczos above 2. Setting to 10 is degrading your image considerably, introducing ringing and green shift. I have little comprehension of the algorithms work but an expert in the field, whose expertise wasn't challenged by the assembled throng :), posted some months ago on AVS giving this advice.

    Try just using this. Disable all filters except Resize, set Lanczos 2, Chroma 1.0 and see what results you're getting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...