1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Few questions before install of Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Pulsar, May 21, 2005.

1. Pulsar

Pulsar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +288
    Hello.

I have just ordered Sky+ which is due to be installed on Friday, I have 2 quick questions.

Firstly, should I be asking the installer for a particular Sky+ box? If so, why?

Secondly, Does the box HAVE to be connected to a phone line 24/7?

Cheers

Rob

2. ukdan

ukdan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +84
    I think most will suggest the pace box, as for being plugged into the phone line 24/7 only if your signing a new 12 month contract or your having the multiroom package

3. Pulsar

Pulsar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +288
    Hi ukdan.

Any reason why I should ask for a Pace box?

This is my first time with Sky, so I have been told it needs to be in the phone line, but why? How can they check?

Cheers

Rob

4. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270
    You should ask for a Pace because this make suffers from far fewer problems than the Amstrad.

The price of the box is subsidised by advertisers on the interactive services, and Sky also sell viewers viewing patterns to interested parties. They do check, by commanding your box to "phone home" via the satellite (via a 0800 number & usually late at night).

5. Bluevanman

Bluevanman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0