Feeling uncertain

seemehd

Standard Member
I have a 40" 1080P TV that I've been using for a few years now. Not sure of some specs but I still find 1080p high bitrate content to be impressive. I've been considering an upgrade for two reasons 1) I think a 49-55" may be a better fit and 2) I like to watch TV in a bright setting during the day or with lights on at night, but I find the reflection to be annoying at times.

I use the TV to watch movies, series, anime and sports from time to time. I also have a playstation 4, but I'd say I spend more time watching than playing. My usage of the TV isn't consistent, there can be times where I won't turn the TV on for days and other times where I'll binge watch or play games for a few hours day after day.

I'm aware that only higher end lcd/oled TVs can display hdr content properly, but this is where I'm lacking certainty. I recently visited my local Curry's and I wasn't impressed by any of the high end lcd screens. I'm not sure if it was due to the source content being low quality, or just me genuinely not being impressed. I found the oled TVs to be much more impressive, but not to the extent that can justify a £800-1000 plus purchase. With that being said, I wouldn't get an oled anyway due to burn in and brightness issues.