Faulty Yamakawa 365 DVD Player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by harrisuk, Mar 24, 2004.

1. harrisuk

harrisuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    Ordered a Yamakawa 365 DVD Player via ebay.de. It arrived on Monday. Tried it out last night and unfortunately it seems to be faulty.

Will play discs but freezes after a few minutes of play and has to be switched off to reset. In addition to this if you eject the disc and put another dvd in it wont read it. You have to switch the power off to reset the machine every time you want to play another disc. I am guessing this could be a problem with the laser alignement, maybe took a knock in transit but I am no expert.

Not a happy bunny :mad: .......I have contacted Yamakawa in Germany direct and they seem willing to replace / repair it.

Anyone got any experience with faults to these players and getting it sorted out ?

2. pc99

pc99

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Have you checked whether new firmware is available?

Just a thought as sometimes players are shipped with really old firmware. My Elta 8883 had new firmware released in October last year, but I only just bought it and it had an older firmware installed. Upgrading the firmware fixed a lot of problems.

3. uczmeg

uczmeg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +45
    Latest firmware is 2.71T.

You should be able to check on the audio setup page I think. If the option to check is not there then you certainly have an old firmware.

An upgrade will have a good chance of fixing your problems. The old firmwares on the V880 and this were rubbish!

If you PM me your email address I can send you the latest firmware. If you can't burn a CD and ask nicely I might even brun one for you.... ;)

Cheers
    Marc

4. harrisuk

harrisuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58