1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Faulty Phantom

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by pantages, May 2, 2005.

  1. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    My copy of Phantom of the Opera DVD is faulty. The sound drops out at about 35, 44, 115 and 130 minutes and the disc pauses for 2-3 seconds at about 62 minutes. I am returning it to the supplier in the hope its replacement will not be from a faulty batch!
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,235
    That pause could be the layer change.
     
  3. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What region...?
     
  4. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    In the middle of a song? The layer change is later at about 70 minutes. The 115 and 130 minutes dropout correspond to the position of the first layer dropouts.

    Region 2.
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    I hope the R3 I ordered doesn't suffer from the same problem. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Eitzel

    Eitzel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Top Secret-Anyone coming anywhere near my Pioneer
    Ratings:
    +143
    This seems to be a common fault on the R2 edition. Three or four drop outs on both DTS and Dolby 5.1. I haven't found any on the stereo track, yet. The layer change is dreadful. Some complaints to EIV I think. This is just not good enough. :thumbsdow
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Oh dear, looks like yours wasn’t a one-off pantages. :thumbsdow
     
  8. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    is the layer change on the sell through in the same place as the rental I wonder...? Just as the Phantom bends down to pick up the rose on the roof top - after the song all I ask of you...?
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,235
    Yep, they can put the layer change anywhere they like!!

    Some companies put it between two scenes, others don't care!
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    I’ll be mad if the layer change is between a song! :mad:
     
  11. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Just to upset you Tejstar - got my boxset this morning - #17 of 2000 :)
     
  12. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine came to...1226 of 2000. Though it says dts 96/24, my Yamaha RXV2500 says it's still sampling at 48khz...even though the 96/24 light is illuminated:confused:
    It is full bit rate though - and VERY loud... :cool:
     
  13. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Haven't played mine - out of curiosity, how does it compare to you F.G. as you've seen the R2 ?

    I'm probably going to give it a whirl tomorrow :)
     
  14. Eitzel

    Eitzel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Top Secret-Anyone coming anywhere near my Pioneer
    Ratings:
    +143
    Are there any problems with drop outs, lip-sync etc? And how is the picture quality?
     
  15. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I watched the R2 (rental) version on an 84 inch diagonal screen through my S97 connected via HDMI to my HS10 - and the picture quality was sometimes breathtaking. I've viewed bits and pieces of the box set on my 42 inch Panasonic PWD6 fed via an Iscan pro...and the picture looks a little duller. I'll watch it on the big screen when I get back from my course at the end of the week and compare it then.
    The 96/24 soundtrack, as i said, is very loud. The first thing I noticed was more music coming from the surround speakers and clearer dialogue. The DD 5.1 EX track is very quite in comparisson on this particular disc for some reason. Maybe they wanted the 96/24 track to stand out a bit more...:confused:

    I am however, concerned that my amp seems to be sampling at 48khz. It says flag 1 is 96/24 and the bit rate is full bit rate dts...but it's only sampling at 48khz. Now isn't 96/24 supposed to be 96khz-24 bit?
     
  16. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    see above mate. There are no audio dropouts that I've heard - though I've only watched the first 10 minutes of the movie.
    There was some nasty lip sync problems during the documantary Behind The Mask though. Though stopping the disc and restarting it soon cleared that up...
     
  17. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Will check mine tomorrow FG - but IIRC on my Denon, I had to set an option for 96/24 (although that might have been for SACD.......)

    It will be interesting either way.
     
  18. Eitzel

    Eitzel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Top Secret-Anyone coming anywhere near my Pioneer
    Ratings:
    +143
    No, the change isn't there, it's at 62.50 and cuts the music stone dead! Damn awful. :nono:
     
  19. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    seems that the sell through and rental are 2 different versions then... :confused:
     
  20. Eitzel

    Eitzel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Top Secret-Anyone coming anywhere near my Pioneer
    Ratings:
    +143
    Seems like it. Let us know how the R3 pans out.
     
  21. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    My supplier tells me the disc is NOT faulty and then they go in to explain how to set up my amp for dts and Dolby Digital. They presumed I am a home cinema novice! My amp is a Pioneer VSA-AX10i and my DVD player is a Pioneer 757i - hardly novice gear! They also protect themselves by including a confidentiality clause which prevents me from copying their explanation. I have replied telling them this and insisting I have either a replacement non-faulty disc or a full refund.
     
  22. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    That is nonsense pantages – you should tell them where to stick their disc!
     
  23. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    I did and I await their reply. Mind you, Jersey is a long way isn't it?
     
  24. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    From Jersey? Is it per chance Play - which would be unusual as the customer services are usually very good.

    Out of *perverse* curiosity - what player do you have ? I'm wondering if this is another Matrix/Samsung type thing ?
     
  25. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Damn!!! I didn't get you to bite with my earlier post of POTO box number 17 of 2000..........

    Although did appreciate the reply on the Sith post mate !
     
  26. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    I missed this post Seth! :confused: #17, that’s pretty impressive!

    I had my dispatch email this morning :clap: so hopefully will have this by the end of the week! :smashin:

    What’s the boxset like, is it as good as FG says?
     
  27. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    DVD Player = Pioneer 757i
    Amp = Pioneer AX10i
    TV = Toshiba 46WM48
    Projector = Panasonic PTAE500

    All is well with other DVD's.
     
  28. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    It's not bad actually - nice presentation layout and for £20 or thereabout, it's actually good value for once. It's a decent-ish sized box too, about 3" deep or so - so it's not getting through a letterbox in a hurry!

    Pantages - well there's no reason the 757 should be any form of issue - as I said it only made me wonder if it was a weird occurance like the Matrix of yesteryear. I'd certainly be complaining (to EIV as well!).
     
  29. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Full refund offered, which I accept.
     
  30. Eitzel

    Eitzel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Top Secret-Anyone coming anywhere near my Pioneer
    Ratings:
    +143
    Check the "Linear PCM Out-Down Sample" setting on your DVD player, if you have one. Set it to "Off". If it is set to "On", the player will down sample the 96kHz signal to 48kHz. I hope this sorts it for you. :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...