1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fat32, Ntfs, Win Me & Win Xp

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ReTrO, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I have a HDD running on a USB2 to IDE adapter (it runs very well with this PC with XP on it). I have formatted it for NTFS, not sure if I had any other options.

    It won't work on my ME system, does ME not support NTFS?

    If it doens't, any ideas on how to FAT32 format it?

    Cheers
     
  2. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    ME doesn't support NTFS. Partition Magic will convert NTFS drives to FAT32.
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Wwwwrgh. That means I'll need to either spend some money or Kazza it or summit.

    Maybe another day then.

    Cheers cj.
     
  4. Ivan8192

    Ivan8192
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Typing 'format /?' at a DOS prompt gives the following:

    C:\>format /?
    Formats a disk for use with Windows XP.

    FORMAT volume [/FS:file-system] [/V:label] [/Q] [/A:size] [/C] [/X]
    FORMAT volume [/V:label] [/Q] [/F:size]
    FORMAT volume [/V:label] [/Q] [/T:tracks /N:sectors]
    FORMAT volume [/V:label] [/Q]
    FORMAT volume [/Q]

    volume Specifies the drive letter (followed by a colon),
    mount point, or volume name.
    /FS:filesystem Specifies the type of the file system (FAT, FAT32, or NTFS).
    /V:label Specifies the volume label.
    /Q Performs a quick format.
    /C NTFS only: Files created on the new volume will be compressed
    by default.
    /X Forces the volume to dismount first if necessary. All opened
    handles to the volume would no longer be valid.
    /A:size Overrides the default allocation unit size. Default settings
    are strongly recommended for general use.
    NTFS supports 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K.
    FAT supports 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K,
    (128K, 256K for sector size > 512 bytes).
    FAT32 supports 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K,
    (128K, 256K for sector size > 512 bytes).

    Note that the FAT and FAT32 files systems impose the
    following restrictions on the number of clusters on a volume:

    FAT: Number of clusters <= 65526
    FAT32: 65526 < Number of clusters < 4177918

    Format will immediately stop processing if it decides that
    the above requirements cannot be met using the specified
    cluster size.

    NTFS compression is not supported for allocation unit sizes
    above 4096.

    /F:size Specifies the size of the floppy disk to format (1.44)
    /T:tracks Specifies the number of tracks per disk side.
    /N:sectors Specifies the number of sectors per track.


    So you should be able to use
    format <drive letter> /FS:FAT32
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Muchos thanks Ivan8192!

    Seems to be working.

    I kept getting stumped by the 'Enter current volume lable for drive F:'

    Until I realised it was just called 'New Volume':rotfl:

    Doh!

    Thanks!
     
  6. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Aargh!

    After giving it an hour and hlaf to format to FAT32, it then tells me the volume is too big for FAT32!

    Nooooooooooooo!!!!!!!

    Bummer...
     
  7. gingercat

    gingercat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    Using XP, right-click on My Computer and select Manage. This brings up the Computer Management tool. Now select the Disk Management option under Storage - this will show you the drives present in your computer. This tool makes it easy to delete/add partitions and format using the file-system of your choice. I'm sure your USB drive should appear here too.
     
  8. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Indeed it's on there gingercat, I can format it to NTFS and use it here fine. Only problem is that I can't see a way of formatting it from my Win ME based system, which is where it needs to be. And it needs FAT32 for this, but it's too big it would appear.

    I need find a spare jumper so I can set the drive to a 24/32Gb (?) limit so it can formatted.
     
  9. Ivan8192

    Ivan8192
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    How big is this disk anyway???

    I think you've got two options:

    1) Partition the physical disk into 2 (or more) logical partitions, then format each as FAT32.

    2) Reformat the single disk using a different cluster size with the /A option.


    As you can see from the format command help above, FAT32 can only have a maximum of 4177918 clusters. Take your disk size (in bytes), divide by 4177918 and round up to the nearest supported cluster size.

    Since a file always requires a minimum of 1 cluster, as you increase the cluster size there will be more wasted space if you have many small files.


    Here are some interesting links to MS pages on FAT32:
    http://www.buildorbuy.org/fat32.html

    Look at the 3rd point:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;314463
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    It's a Seagate Barracuda 160Gb drive. I don't need the full capacity at the mo, so diving it would make sense. Not done this formatting lark for a while now, :D
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,969
    You can access an NTFS partition from ME if you're doing it via Network Neighbourhood - assuming the 2 computers are networked of course !
     

Share This Page

Loading...