1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Notice: AVForums will be offline at 10pm for no longer than 30 minutes for scheduled maintenance. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes.
    Dismiss Notice

Farcry dvd scratched any options?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by rigman, Jul 7, 2004.

  1. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Can you use Brasso like you can on a normal CD rom to remove scratches from a DVD.
    I bought it from Ebay and it looks like Torvill and Dean have been practicing their ice skating on it. I did not expect it to work and I was right :thumbsdow

    Before I start demanding my money back are there any options?

    thanks
    Darren
     
  2. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used Brasso on CD's but not DVD's. Might be worth a try but remember to polish from the centre out. A better alternative would be to use a Skip Doctor, try and borrow one as buying might not be cost effective. Skip Doctor is very good but it won't work miracles.
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    Hold it up to the light.
    If you can see light through the scratches or pinpricks chances are the disc is knackered.

    You might be able to download the game from the makers as long as you have the keycode : they may ask for a proof of purchase and quibble that the licence itself is not transferable between buyers though.
     
  4. Paul Williams

    Paul Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Plymouth/Devon
    Ratings:
    +15
    I was in Toy R Us the other day and one of the asistants was talking to a lady about a disc refurbishment service. This is basically stick it in a provided envolope, with the fee and pop it in the post - didn't catch the cost. Or £3.99 from here;
    http://www.thatzdvd.com/disc_repair.asp

    Paul
     
  5. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    No scratch repair will work if the data layer is damaged hence my point about holding it up to the light.
     
  7. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    This is a strange one. I emailed the guy asking for my money back and here is his reply......

    I will certainly return your money, but do not send the disc back.
    If your computer is saying please insert the correct disc, this is a
    security issue with the makers, please see forum guides on the far cry
    sites.
    My friend has this game and although the dem worked fine the full product
    took a lot of work to get going.
    I think he had to download a file called no cd and change the far cry file
    title.
    I should have checked the disc, sorry about that.


    He has given me the money back into my Paypal account. The game looks totally genuine but I wonder if it is a pirate copy. I will try an repair it as I do not have anything to lose now I have the money back.

    thanks for your suggestions
    Darren
     
  8. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    I had no problems whatsoever installing Far Cry.
    If you have a disc cloning utility or similar it will refuse to install.
     
  9. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Can you not send a knackered disc back to the publishers for a new one? I ask as well as my BF1942 disc on cracked when i popped it out of the case the other day and will not read anymore.

    Panic
     
  10. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    The publisher will usually send replacement discs with proof of purchase but it'll cost you. I think it'll cost in the order of £7-£10 depending on the publisher concerned which is a bummer imo.
     
  11. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Bummer indeed. After i load a game succesfully for the first time with no problems i never keep my receipts :suicide:
    I just assumed with an obvious original disc and i put a return paid envelope in sending me a replacement would be straightforward. Doh!!

    Be cheaper for me to wait till it drops down to budget price and hope i don't have to do a reinstall in the near future. :rolleyes:

    Panic
     
  12. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    You could always use a no cd patch if you have the game installed ;)
     
  13. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    I have held the disc up to the light and cannot see any holes. The disc is scratched but they do not look that deep. I will buy the Brasso and see if it does anything.

    I do not have the game installed. That is what I am trying to do.

    In the meantime I have been playing Call of duty. Excellent game

    Off to Hagerston Castle tomorrow for a week with the family.. Hope this bloody weather changes.

    thanks
    Darren
     
  14. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    try using windows explorer to copy the entire contents of the disc onto your hard disk. If you get cyclic redundancy errors then say goodnight, but if it copies across ok then it's probably just a scratch that affects decompressing the cd data 'on the fly' and will work fine if you install it from the hard disk.

    also, you could legally download the game (from ftp or bittorrent or something) since you have the original (although it's a 3.5gb download), but you would still need the 'no cd' unless the security sectors of the cd are undamaged.
     
  15. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Tried that and got the CRC error on the French file. I could not copy it without the French file as it just hung up my computer. Just out of interest I thought I would try and copy it on to the hard drive of my old computer which is only a 1 gig athlon so did not have a hope in hell of playing it. It copied fine.
    I then took my old DVD rom drive out of my old computer and then placed in my new computer alongside the all singing all dancing dual layer writer (which could not read the disk) and have now benn able to install it and play it fine.

    So what do I do now? Send the guy his money back?

    He obviously knew about the disc being dodgy and that is why he placed it on Ebay and hence gave me my money back so quick when I complained. There is no way I would be able to resell it in the condition it is in which is what I normally do with the games I have completed.

    What would you do if you were me :devil:

    thanks to Marc for his copy to hard drive suggestion and the rest of you for your suggestions

    Darren
     
  16. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    well don't give him his money back, you're right; no one refunds so easily unless they knew they were selling crap in the first place.

    And for the dvd drive, seeing as how it's dual layer, that means it's pretty new. There is a chance that it may be incompatible with some discs due to bad firmware. Check to see if that particular drive has a firmware update available for download on the internet.

    Glad you got Far Cry installed, everyone deserves to play it, it's a masterpiece of PC gaming!
     

Share This Page

Loading...