1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAO: Z2 buyers (and others) - possible cable group buy

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by buns, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try Scorpion cables
     
  2. Kam the Man

    Kam the Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am interested in a 7.5m DVi and 10m component for my preordered Z2!
     
  3. Woz!

    Woz!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, I'm in turmoil at the moment as I need 15m runs....and I'm not sure quite WHAT I need.

    I think I need 15m component, 15m phono, 15m vga and 15m svhs......and maybe 15m screened mains (but the mains connection on the back of the Z2 looks non-standard to me..which is nice).


    Planning to run :

    DVD - Component
    HiDef hacked Xbox - Component
    TiVo - RGB
    Possibly PC - Currently VGA, eventually DVI maybe

    I may use the Xbox for all DVD replay as it will be progscan as well. That way I should be able to do without any switching as the RGB TiVo should be able to go into the DVI socket....I think.....

    And I only have Svhs switching....which I don't really want to use.

    Problem is that Svhs isn't recommended for that sort of lenght, nor is DVI as I understand it...but VGA and component should be fine...I think....

    Not sure if I'd be up for a powerbuy, as I'm on a pretty tight timescale as well.
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well it doesnt seem like there is hugge interest. A power buy is a bit tight, as much as anything I was thinking of a way to help the many posts which will be wanting to know what cables! A cable FAQ maybe...... connections available, limitations, where to buy.....

    Lindy I suggest is good for computer type cables.

    VDC seem good for budget type audio and video.

    Maybe I should restart this thread under a different guise!

    Ad
     
  5. Woz!

    Woz!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +1
    On the subject of DVI-I, I've done some research.
    DVI-I carries both the digital signal and an analogue signal (I believe it's RGB and component but I can't find confirmation of this)


    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=1577&p=3

    http://www.directron.com/dviguide.html

    http://www.lindy.com/us/tips/us/Digital_Monitor_Connections_Explained_/index.php

    The problem I have is that I'm looking to get cables of about 11m....which exceeds the spec of DVI as I understand it, and I can't find a supplier.
    Does anyone know of anywhere that will do this for me? And is anyone knowledgable enough to be able to say if it's worth me bothering to install one?

    Cheers all.
     
  6. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still looking for exactly that for the FAQ sticky - you game? ;)

    With so many cable/connection variants, different length requirments etc. I'd imagine a powerbuy would be a nightmare.

    Possibly a thread in General Hardware......

    Unbelieveable the number of Z2 threads/posts given nobody actually owns one yet :D
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    agreed powerbuy would be tough, it was just a thought and no one seems interested anyhow...... even me since ive already bought cables...... except for an optical digital which is going to cost a fortune so seeing as it will only be for the very odd sky DD broadcast, im going to live without!

    I'll consider putting together a few odds and ends on cables, but no promises because im away for a few weeks very soon.

    Ad
     
  8. eatstatic

    eatstatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Centre of the Universe
    Ratings:
    +44
    Well .....I am interested.

    Just need to work out what lenght of cable (component) and what quality I will need/can afford.

    Sticky would be good though.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Perhaps contacting Ken at Ijovo and askeing them to do a speacial forum members Cable bundle like a 3m bundle YUV, VGA and S-video and then 5m and 10m. bundles shipping them with PJ wont cost much more and at least you'd get it all together I personally think Bandridge Profigold are good budget to medium cables,
     
  10. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    eatstatic,

    As has been said, when i think about it a powerbuy would be a nightmare, so it certainly wont happen by me, there wouldnt be time either.

    Kramer,

    maybe you might amend the title to something a bit more appropriate? or merge with the z2 connections thread?

    ad

    it might be a good
     
  11. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Merge? Did someone say merge? Merge the (seemingly) 15 million Z2 threads into one giant Z2 thread?

    :p

    Seriously, which other "connection" thread or what new title?

    :)
     
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont know..... :eek: 'pre-sticky cables'!? Just if it says possible power buy, then people are going to post interest when its already been deemed undoable.....

    ad
     
  13. Synchronicity

    Synchronicity
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +214
    I would have been interested in a powerbuy but tbh Im not really sure what I am going to need yet:confused: definately cable from xbox to pj,but I think my 4 year old toshiba dvd player may need upgrading so I dont know what cable Im going to need from dvd to pj(this is all depending on wether ivojo even honour the quotes,after they have stopped taking pre orders:rolleyes: )
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Perhaps a note to our usual forum cable suppliers would be in order, Paul???
     
  15. Woz!

    Woz!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +1

    Try Ard Electronics - VERY cheap optical cables.
     
  16. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    I believe the DVI restriction is for digital signals because of the high frequencies used. If being used for analogue, cant see why 10m runs wouldnt work.

    Ive done a DVI FAQ with all that I could find, see link in newbie sticky
     
  17. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been told by someone reasonably well knowing that optical cables of any appreciable length combined with small cost is a bad idea..... losses can be enormous which is easy to appreciate when you consider who precion the manufacture of optical cable is.

    The only thing i need it for is for sky+ box...... but I assume only the odd movie has DD 5.1 anyhow, so most of the time i will be loistening in a pro logic fashion, so im going to just go with trying to do it with analogue connects

    ad
     
  18. Woz!

    Woz!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +1
    For everyones info - I just phoned Lindy, and they don't sell DVI-I cables at all.
     
  19. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    i just bought a dvi-d cable from them, im only looking to be using digital anyhow

    ad
     
  20. Woz!

    Woz!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm having trouble tracking down anywhere that will sell DVI-I cables at all, let alone long ones :(
     
  21. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you ask Ken?

    ad
     
  22. Woz!

    Woz!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +1
    Good point.....:D
     
  23. chris l.

    chris l.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Read the link below.

    http://www.tech-plus.co.uk/system/index.html

    If runing a Samsung Dvd-hd935 (dvi-d out) to Sanyo PLV-Z2 (dvi-i in) you can only use a dvd-d cable as the analouge pins on the dvi-i cable wont alow it to go into the dvd-d socket on the Samsung dvd-hd935.

    Hope this helps.

    Also max recomended dvi cable length is 5m, over that and up to 10m is a game of chance.

    Regards,

    Chris L.
     

Share This Page

Loading...