• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Fan position in a custom built HTPC case?

balidey

Distinguished Member
Hello,
First I'll introduce myself and my reason for the odd question, I'm Steve and I'm a Design Engineer by trade.
My previous PC experience is that I have built my own PC's from parts handed down from my mate's upgrades. So my PC has always been quite good quality items, just about 2 or more years old. But it does the job for what I wanted it to do.

Until now that is.

I have recently bought a nice(ish) Sony HDTV and I want to build an HTPC. But the way I work is that I love to do things on a really strict budget. So rather than buy a case, I am building one. From scratch. Designing and making things is what I do for a living, and I get a real satisfaction from these little projets.

The internal components will all be bought or borrowed from other machines, but the case will be made by me from an alloy frame with carbon fibre panelling. The reasons for this are 1) I have access to the alloy and carbon and I can use them well and 2) it should look cool.

The other reason for a custom case is that I have a really limited amount of space in my TV stand, and most of the HTPC cases off the shelf were way too big, so I have decided to make a custom sized one. And with a carbon front I should be able to make it look cool and sleek.

I have a couple of old PC cases that I can rob drive bays etc from. But the thing that I am really stuck on is fan placement as its not something I have had to consider before (even though I have been involved in whole vehicle aerodynamic studies, I know a lot about the process, just not how best to do it inside a PC case).