1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Family Guy Season 1. 14 episodes on 2 discs == disaster!

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by -=Kamikaze=-, Nov 26, 2002.

  1. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my copy of Family Guy season 1 on DVD yesterday and I must say that there is a very good reason for why it was so cheap. The quality really stinks! I've seen films compressed with divx that looked and sounded better than this. If you appreciate quality then stay far away. If you however appreciate satire at it's finest go ahead and buy it cause you are gonna laugh your ass off. Funny stuff, too bad about the DVD though hope season 2 will look better.
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    Whenever I watch something this funny I never notice the picture or sound problems
     
  3. smallman28

    smallman28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That strange,I got mine last year when it first came out and it is excellent quality.
     
  4. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got to be honest with you guys I can for the life of me not understand why mpeg2 does such a **** poor job of compressing cartoons like this so much, I mean "Family guy" is so simply drawn. In most of the scenes the characters don't move around much and the average number of colours each scene uses is less than ten. Surely this should be gold for image/video compression or should at least allow for 2,6 hours of video to easily be compressed with no loss of quality.

    And yes it really is that bad, I also bought Futurama season 1 which comes on 3 DVD's and the quality is worlds apart. Alhough the quality of Futurama is in no way pristine. I guess compression artefacts are much more visible on animations since so few colours are used and the general lack of detail.
     
  5. Delorian

    Delorian
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not so sure there's gonna be a second season on DVD. I heard, since they were cancelling the show, there wasn't going to be any more DVDs released. And the first one has been out ages withough any sign of any more. Perhaps someone could correct, confirm or update this???
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    Series 2 is set for release on 27th January 2003 in the UK
    Even though I have all the episodes downloaded (uncut US versions - not the crappy cut ones Sky 1 put out) I will still buy them all on DVD
     
  7. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woah woah wait a minute! Are you sating that the ones I have on DVD are cut?!? What the hell?!?
    What has been cut?
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    The DVD is uncut - but all the episodes on TV were cut to ribbons
     
  9. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    #Phew#
    Well I watched them on Danish television which does not know the word censorship. Thank god I live in a open minded country, all our DVD's are also uncut.
     
  10. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    On a similar note is it me or is 20th century Fox just run by a bunch of morons? I mean they cancel both Family Guy and Futurama but keep holding on to Simpsons which hasn’t produced anything good since the show topped a couple of years ago. I mean they must have tons of garbage they could have given the axe but they had to choose the funniest two things they had going for them. How that decision came to be approved is beyond me…
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    That's Fox for you !!
     
  12. Delorian

    Delorian
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here, here. The Simpsons hasn't been good since they started going celebrity crazy. Ever since U2 were in it it's been far worse than King of the Hill and Family Guy. Never liked Futurama though, cept for the Charlie & the Chocolate Factory episode with Slurm.

    Sign the Save Family Guy petition here http://www.petitiononline.com/savefg2/petition.html

    P.S. Like your avatar Kamikaze!
     
  13. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ha ha ha ha ha!
    That's a actually a picture of me!
     
  14. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Holy mother of crap on a stick! 99204 people have signed the "Get Family Guy back on TV or bust" campaign. That's a lot of people, surely even the thick headed executives, that are running fox in a way that a chimp can do a better job of, can’t ignore that many signatures. Go on and sign it so we can get it to cross the 10.000 signs line…
     
  15. cessquill

    cessquill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Got my copy of Family Guy R2 on the day of release. Didn't notice any quality issues. Maybe that's just me.

    Hadn't noticed season 2 coming out. Have it on pre-order now.

    Do you think that this is the sort of show that couldn't have that many episodes? There is so much in each one that, in my guess, they might run out of steam quite quickly or start looking predictable after maybe 4 seasons.
     
  16. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many seasons did they manage to squeeze out before getting cancelled?
     
  17. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    You guys who don't notice anything wrong with the quality on the R2 Family Guy Season 1 what kind of hardware are you watching it with/on? What kind of television do you have, how big is it, what kind of DVD player do you use, what kind of cables do you use between the TV and DVD player and how many other film do you have on DVD.

    I simply cannot understand why some think it looks fine, perhaps you are just not sensitive enough to these issues to notice...
     
  18. cessquill

    cessquill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm using a Sony 735 DVD going through a Sony 940 Receiver to an Ellie CRT projector. Cables are of decent quality, although not high-end. It could be me to be honest.

    As far as I know, they have made three seasons of Family Guy thus far
     
  19. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only three? A damn shame...
    But seriously I just watched another episode on my 28" and it is definitely there and it's very visible. You'd think that it would be much more visible on a projector but there you go.
     
  20. aogg

    aogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my copy in the week of release and it looked fine to me. I've got a Pioneer 525 and Sony 32" 100Hz TV with a decent (not cheap) RGB cable.

    I've watched it several times now and I'm too busy laughing to notice any faults.
     
  21. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    I've never had any problems - I've watched it loads of times since it was released ages ago.
    Then again I'm not looking for problems when watching something this good
     
  22. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Maybe you just got a dodgy copy Kamikaze!! you sure it's not ripped from DVD / divx'ed and put back on them again and sold?

    Dave
     
  23. -=Kamikaze=-

    -=Kamikaze=-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like a professional product too me, print on the disc and all, so I very much doubt that I've been had. Are you guys telling me that you don't see JPEG like compression "errors" around the edges of the figures? It looks exactly like a picture that has been compressed too much with JPEG. You know the odd colours around the edges and such. Also there is a lot of flicker which again is caused by too much compression. If you can't see it then I must somehow have a different version that the rest of you.
     
  24. peterc

    peterc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    check the size of the disk in a computer, ie: if it is about 4 gig chances are that it is a rip, over that genuine
     
  25. dfield2000

    dfield2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    Something I notice everytime I play my Family Guy series 1 disk is the copyright warning at the start - the one which is black background, white writing and a big WARNING at the top in red.

    It is a standard image which I've seen loads of times - but on the family guy disk the letters in WARNING have jagged edges, like saw tooth effect. Not sure how you guys describe this - I presume this is edge enhancement ?

    This just strikes me a weird though - cos regardless of how bad a transfer they do for the main feature - how can this standard copyright warning me messed up also ?
     
  26. peterc

    peterc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    weird one dfield2000, i'll ook at mine tonight and see what that looks like, also i'll check the disk size, got me interested now..
     
  27. Azrikam

    Azrikam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't watched it in a while, but I'm pretty sure my R2 Family Guy DVDs have the same kind of dodgy image quality that's been mentioned. Not rediculously bad, but definitely not DVD quality, IMO.

    Ditto on Fox being idiots. Futurama and Family Guy both made me laugh, something the Simpsons hasn't done for years.
     
  28. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    I'm pretty sure my Family Guy S1 R2 comes on 2 disks, not one - 7 per disk...?
     
  29. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,981
    Season 1 R2 is definately 2 disks.
     
  30. cessquill

    cessquill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    For region 2, Seasons 1 and two = 2 discs. Season 3, 3 discs.

    All seem fine to me still, I think.
     

Share This Page

Loading...