F1 2015

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Kirki, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. Kirki

    Kirki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +245
    It's out now.
    It looks great.
    It's full of bugs like no FFB, CTD all the time, the menus display the console options, the sounds are awful. I could go on...
    I just wanted to suggest nobody else buys this. Even when it's cheap. Which shouldn't take too long at this rate.
     
  2. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    Rush job? That's the problem when games come out yearly, Not played one since 2013 which i did like but 2010 was the best of recent years imo. Plenty of F1 or similar in other games to keep us happy thankfully.
    Shame there isnt a full sim full F1 game out there.
     
  3. aslird

    aslird
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,291
    The reviews on steam are even worse than Batman :)
     
  4. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,697
    I was looking forward to this but it sounds disappointing so will be giving it a miss for now. It looks as though it could be good and should be good but then as is the case with many modern games the good side of things is let down by it practically being unfinished.
     
  5. Kirki

    Kirki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +245
    They've already had a day 1 patch applied and that hasn't solved the most glaringly obvious issues, so seems like a rush job, or port even. There is potential there, as graphics are superb and the physics don't seem to be too bad.

    Worry is that by time they fix everything there won't be anyone left playing it (online). And they seem to have modelled the AI on Pastor Maldonado, which means they crash into you all the time, they don't even try to avoid you - so racing against AI isn't really an option right now. Oh well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  6. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Codemasters releasing a buggy game.... I'm shocked!

    I was tempted but not anymore, thanks for the heads up. Codemasters being codemasters.
     
  7. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    True but dirt rally is truly sublime even in early access
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Maybe this needed to be an early access game [emoji4]. Tbh from the twitch feeds I liked the look of it. I would use pad so wouldn't have the wheel associated issues but its not the first time I have read about the AI just running into you. That would wind me up some what.
     
  9. Furnace Inferno

    Furnace Inferno
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,265
    That's because there is no A.I to ruin it, just wait for the rallycross expansion and they will be just as bad. I've come to the conclusion that Codemasters just don't know how to program good A.I without resorting to the age old rubberbanding trick which makes the A.I uncontrollably quick and end up smashing into the back of you because they can't slow down fast enough.
     
  10. TJP75

    TJP75
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    915
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Ratings:
    +721
    Oh my..

    F1 2015 PS4 AI Backmarker Behaviour - Monaco


    Interesting way to code how the AI see blue flags!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  11. Spinke

    Spinke
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Ratings:
    +608
    That's both saddening and hilarious.
     
  12. Presuming Ed

    Presuming Ed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,008
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Umbrage
    Ratings:
    +928
    I wish James Hunt was still around so he could commentate on that. Not like that when he used to commentate, I still remember his rants about backmarkers like Rene Arnoux, Olivier Grouillard, Phillipe Alliot who would not oniy ignore the fact that the leaders were trying to lap them but would actively block them.

    No such thing as blue flags then - although incidents at that time were partly the cause of them coming in. Come to think of it all those drivers drove for Ligier, which perhaps explains why they chose blue as the colour for the flag.
     
  13. V F

    V F
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +65
  14. TJP75

    TJP75
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    915
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    97
    Ratings:
    +721
    New patch on Steam yesterday with a lot of fixes. Do the CM's F1 team have a QA team?

    "Hi all,

    We just set live a new patch for F1 2015 including the below fixes.

    Fixed AI always pitting on the same lap as their team mate
    Fixed some instances of cars getting stuck in the pit lane
    Fixed infrequent crash in the pit lane
    Fixed car resetting to track when using flashback in the pit lane
    Fixed instances of the pitting strategy not always updating correctly
    Fixed fuel changes not saving correctly when changed under parc fermé conditions
    Fixed various errors with the damage, fuel and temperature swipe
    Fixed game stutter when the player takes control of an AI-driven car
    Fixed AI cars having punctured tyres in P2 and P3 sessions in Pro Season mode
    Fixed identical weather being used for all practice sessions in Pro Season mode
    Fixed game resuming instantly when backing out of replay
    Fixed flickering on track reflections in wet weather on high graphics settings
    Fixed objects popping when playing with multi-monitor and wide screen setups
    Added ability to adjust camera and field of view settings
    Fixed McLaren 2015 car’s gear paddles glowing orange under braking
    Added ability to delete car setups
    Added a new “invite only” custom match option
    Added push to talk functionality for voice comms
    Improved session joining speed through the multiplayer hoppers.
    Reconfigured hoppers to give one hopper per difficulty setting
    Updated feature race to Belgian Grand Prix
    Fixed players with invalidated lap times being shown as in 1st place during one shot qualifying sessions
    Fixed grid order being incorrect after one-shot qualifying session if players had invalidated their lap times
    Fixed several instances of players failing to start a session after other players have left the game
    Fixed race start timer increasing whenever a player joins a hopper lobby
    Fixed players acquiring another player’s points when joining a session mid-season
    Fixed saved lobby settings not loading in correctly
    Fixed players not joining hopper lobbies correctly from some game modes
    Fixed car body not loading in correctly in some multiplayer race
    Fixed multiple incorrect fastest lap notifications being displayed during online practice sessions
    Fixed vote to skip track being used multiple times in lobbies
    Added notifications for players retiring during a multiplayer session
    Various other bug fixes and improvements

    Please note that voice command support is still being developed, and is expected to be delivered in a later update.

    As ever thank you for your feedback and support and let us know how you feel about this latest update"
     
  15. Spinke

    Spinke
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Ratings:
    +608
    I picked this up thinking the bugs might be resolved, I was wrong.

    The game pops up 'Controller not supported (Xbox 360)', which makes no sense as it's on the supported controller list. I can navigate the menus using the steam controller but not the 360 pad, can't make a custom input configuration, and once I start a session I can't drive the car. It slows down and stops immediately, car revving like crazy, and no matter what I do my inputs are ignored.

    Can anyone offer any help? I didn't expect such a fundamental problem!

    I'm using a Steam Link which causes an issue with the suggestion I found online of unplugging the controller until the game had loaded, then plugging it back in again.
     
  16. jassco

    jassco
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,332
    Silly suggestion, but if the car is revving but not going anywhere, have you got the gears set to manual? Sounds like it is starting you off in neutral
     
  17. Spinke

    Spinke
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Ratings:
    +608
    No, set to automatic. I'm also not touching the throttle trigger and it's revving on its own.

    I have seen that this was a well known launch bug, along with buttons getting mixed up of their own accord. Hoped someone might have experienced It / found a workaround.
     
  18. mufc4eva

    mufc4eva
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +224
    Did you ever get this sorted @Spinke?

    I picked this up earlier but having the same issues with an Xbox One controller.
     
  19. Spinke

    Spinke
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Ratings:
    +608
    No, I've given up for now and uninstalled.
     

Share This Page

Loading...