Extra TVs, Sky+, connections and cable help!

RichardN75

Standard Member
Right, bear with me whilst I ask this, as it's probably not complicated to you lot, but I'm still learning!

I have a flat, where the only TV point is in the lounge. There are two bedrooms, and I wish to run an aerial point in each. In the master bedroom, I wish to run Sky Magic Eye so I can change channels from my bedroom, but the second bedroom only requires standard terrestrial channels.

In the lounge at the TV point, it has a normal terrestrial RF point, and one for the Sky feed. Obviously it being a block of flats, the signal is split between the three flats.

There is no other cabling in the house, but I currrently have all the skirtings off after having new flooring laid, so I can very easily run cabling round the flat if required.

Equipment wise, I have a 42" Samsung LCD in the lounge, with a yet to be decided surround setup DVD, and Sky+, and a 32" Samsung LCD to go in the bedroom with a simple Samsung surround setup with DVD player.

What is the most simple way to pipe the TV signal round the flat to do as described? I can manage the fitting of sockets and cable myself, so that is not an issue.

Will I need any sort of VHF/UHF amp before the signal is split?

Any help would be much appreciated....

D

Deleted member 30535

I'd recommend using "satellite" cable (CT100 or equivalent) to wire through from the lounge to your bedrooms. It'll minimise both losses and interference.

I'd connect the Sky+ box to the LCD via the RGB Scart for the best picture. Then I'd utilise both the RF outputs on the Sky box to pipe a signal to each of the bedrooms. Unless you have extremely long runs of cable, the amplified output of the Sky+ RF outputs shuld be enough on their own for your remote TV's, particularly as you won't be splitting the signal.