1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

External Storage?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by General Skanky, Feb 24, 2003.

  1. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Is it possible to buy a caddy for a normal pc ide HDD to use as an external usb/firewire hdd?

    I'm sure I saw a caddy like that a little while ago, but can only find laptop sized caddies.:confused:
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Thanks.

    I was hoping for something a touch cheaper.
     
  4. Kronin

    Kronin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try http://www.span.com/system/index.htm , good company (their website doesnt look too appealing I know but Ive dealt with them before and they were very good).

    Just go to the firewire or usb category and look at the desktop cases - I thought the "IceCube" looked quite nice :)

    Theyre cheaper than most places but firewire and usb caddys as a rule are around the £100 mark.

    HTH.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,851
    I've made my own - bought the external housing and then put in an 80GB HDD. I bought it on-line from a company in Leeds but can't find their details. I will look for the invoice if you need further information
     
  6. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I saw one at the ISP we use - it was only USB (no Firewire), but I think it was USB2. They said it was about £50, but I didn't get the name of the darn thing. I'll see if I can find out more...
     
  7. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Right, what about these:
    http://www.vipower.com

    Basically, you can buy a caddy with power supply, then a "smartcable" to go with it which converts IDE to USB2, Firewire or PCMCIA (depending on the cable).
    They do 5.25" Caddys, as well as others.
    Just seen they do a 3.5" jobby complete for £40 - click here for a link to a supplier in the UK. Don't know if these are the cheapest people, just the first supplier Google came up with.

    HTH
     
  8. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Ideal! Thanks. Typical, I aways use a search engine but didn't this time.:suicide:
     
  9. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was looking for one as well, cheers! I'll move my 60GB from my desktop to the box, and buy a 200GB for my desktop

    Nathan
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  11. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I fancy one to put the DVDRom into, and run the power, reset and LEDs up to it as well. Then I could bury the main box somewhere, and just have a nice little box on my desktop. I guess a USB port up there would be good too.

    Looks like another tinkering project on the way....
     
  12. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44

Share This Page

Loading...