External HD through USB

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by oska, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    I have an Icybox caddy with a 160GB HD in it that I am trying to hook up through the USB but it isn't recognising anything on it. I want to use it for film and TV show playback. I have named a file "Video" but it just won't recognise any files.

    I've put an episode of "Born Survivor" in the video file on my 1GB memory stick duo from my phone and that works fine.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Is the HD formatted to FAT32 as opposed to NTFS ? The PS3 only recognises HD's formatted as FAT32.
     
  3. insomniak123

    insomniak123

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Balamb Garden
    Ratings:
    +370
    bit of genius on sony's part there. max supported file size of 4gb for a supposedly next-gen high-def machine... :oops: :rolleyes:
     
  4. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    Not a lot they can do. NTFS is a microsoft proprietary disk format and Windows machines only support Fat32 and NTFS.

    I think they should have left autodetect on for ext2/3, xfs, etc. for those of us with more options.. but most people would still be stuck with fat32.
     
  5. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Er...formatted to what what?! I take it I'm buggered then?
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Why ? Can you elaborate ?
     
  7. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    I was asked whether it was formatted to FAT32 as opposed to NTFS. I have no idea what any of that means!?

    Thanks
     
  8. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Essentially Windows uses two different methods of formatting on hardrives for file allocation, the older FAT32 and the newer NTFS. There are a number of differences to both which I won't go into detail here. Suffice it to say the PS3 only recognises the older FAT32 format. If you HD is using the NTFS format system you will need to reformat it for FAT32. Ofcourse if you're going to do this you may need to back up the data first unless you already have it backed up elsewhere already.
     
  9. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Ah, I see. Well I have a new HD as well that I haven't used yet so if I format that to FAT32 then I should be alright?! Now all I need is to work out how to format a Drive!
    :)

    Thanks for the info.
     
  10. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Connect the drive to your PC via the USB. Double click on My computer. Right click on the external drive and a menu will pop up. Choose the format option. There should be options to choose either FAT32 or NTFS. I believe this will work although I haven't done it in a long time so can't be sure.
     
  11. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    Google for a programme called 'fat32formatter', it's free and very easy to use. If you use windows you'll be restricted to 32gb partitions.
     
  12. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Thanks everyone, I'll give it all a go.

    Cheers:thumbsup:
     
  13. interquad

    interquad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a very helpful thread in relation to my problems with file sizes.

    I have made a number of High Def wedding videos using an HD camcorder, and edited on my PC which I now want to transfer from the PC to the PS3 (which I think is an excellent media player) via a USB HD.

    Problem is, is that the file sizes for some of these videos are over 10 GBs, therefore with the USB HD's FAT32 4 Gb max size restriction I have no way of getting my videos onto the PS3 (unless I split the file into 3 which ruins the effect).

    I thought that the file size restriction was something to do with preventing piracy as most DVDs are about 4.7Gb in size but it is massively irritating for people like me who just want the convenience of copying their own home videos!

    I have reformatted a USB HD to NTFS before as an experiment, and although I had no more file size problems, the USB HD stopped working shortly after, and I had to buy a new one - but in any case, if the PS3 doesn't recognise NTFS there's no point in reformatting.

    Does anyone know a way to get files larger than 4Gb onto the PS3 via a USB HD?
     
  14. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    8gb USB flash drives shoud work:
    http://www.mobymemory.com/proddetail.asp?prod=TS8GJFV10
    Apparently there's 16gb versions on the way. Quite expensive for the size though.
     
  15. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    That won't work - it's a FAT32 limitation not a drive limitation.

    I'd expect the browser could do it provided you can transfer files over it (which I've heard you can) since the PS3 itself uses a linux filesystem that doesn't have these limits.
     
  16. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    Of course it wont, just ignore me. :rolleyes:
     
  17. interquad

    interquad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apologies if this has been covered 100's of times before, because I'm not a PC or PS3 expert, but is there any way of connecting the PS3 directly to a PC (perhaps by USB) so that the PC 'sees' the PS3 as an external HD, and then just drag the files across?

    I've got a feeling that this is probably too simple to be workable!
     
  18. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    You could probably get the PS3 to see the PC as an external HD by running the right software, but I can't see it working the other way around.
     
  19. deepan88

    deepan88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi there, i have a 320gb seagate drive that is already formatted to FAT32. and i have all my stuff in the Picture folder, Music Folder, and Video Folder. but the ps3 wont recognise the drive at all. it shows "busy" in the corner when i connect it, but when i press the triangle button nothing shows. i know my mp3's are less than 4gb and most of my movies are too, so they shud show right?

    could it be that they are all organised into their own (sub)folders?

    all help is appreciated

    Deepan
     
  20. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Followed all instructions to the letter and new drive is now formatted at FAT32. Converted Born Survivor.avi file to MP4. Created "Video" file on new drive and put the the content in it, plugged into PS3 and.......nothing! Won't recognise anything on the drive at all. Is there a setting on the PS3?
    :suicide:
     
  21. Lukero77

    Lukero77

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +15
    Where is this 4gb limit coming from, I always thought fat32 was limited to 32gb hence the name. I have a 500gb fat formatted drive and it has only one partition but works fine under xp, i'm awaiting delivery on mine to test
     
  22. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    I think the 4GB limit is on the PS3 hard drive, not externally.
     
  23. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    Each individual file on a fat32 drive is limited to 4gb.
     
  24. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +110
    The '32' in FAT32 is just to say it's 32-bit. The 4gb limit is a FAT32 restriction, meaning you can't have any file over 4gb on a drive formatted to FAT32, IE any external drives or your PC's HDD. Once you're on the PS3 you're fine though, because the internal drive's not FAT32.

    On a related note, I've got my Mum's 4gb mp3 player here, and I can't make the PS3 see that either. I've also had problems making some cards read too. One of my SD cards worked every other time you insert it ! Seems it's a bit hit and miss.
     
  25. Lukero77

    Lukero77

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +15
    I get it now and stand corrected.:thumbsup:
     
  26. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Anyone? I'm pulling my hair out here! What about if part of the drive is formatted at FAT32 will it just read that and not the rest?

    Thanks
     
  27. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    Is it a powered drive? I suspect the PS3 doesn't provide enough power on its USB for something like a hard drive.
     
  28. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Yes, it has an AC adaptor. Does it need to be in a specific folder? I've tried a "Video" folder and that does not work. It does work in the video folder on my phone's memory stick though...plays back fine.
     
  29. fatfingers73

    fatfingers73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Weald
    Ratings:
    +155
    When my external drive was partitioned it would only see half of it, even though both halves were fat32. Will your PS3 physically see the drive? if so press the triangle button when you're on the drive, this will open everything up, or can't you get that far?
     
  30. oska

    oska
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Nope, it won't recognise the drive at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...