External dvd reader / writer suitable for G5 Tiger

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by la gran siete, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    my superdrive no longer works and is no longer cost effective to replace so i thought maybe an external DVD reader /writer would do the job until such time i decide to replace my G5.Only thing is i dont know which brand or model would be suitable and wondered if anyone had any suggestions. My main aim is to burn DVDs.
    Any advice would be most welcome .thanks
     
  2. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
  3. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    i think it might be better if i found a firewire powered one as that would enable me to start up from it:)
     
  4. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
    Yes I think you need leopard to boot from usb on a G5....Havent tried it though. Let us know if you find a firewire enclosure or drive cheaply. Never found one for less that about £120 which made me go for a blu-ray rewrite for just a little more.
     
  5. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    I found this one which might do the trick LaCie - LaCie d2 DVD±RW 22x with LightScribe :) I have emailed them to see what they say.I have one of their external HDDs which works very well so i would feel quite confident buying from them.Saves having to buy a new G5 for now:).Mind you I am still a bit annoyed with Adobe flash no longer support Tiger as I was hoping to run this computer for 10 years

    what i dont understand is what they mean by 22x
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  6. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
    Yes I like LaCie, that price has come down quite a bit :)

    Don't you feel tempted to put Leopard or even Snow Leopard on that G5? Should be just fine..

    22x is the DVD speed in Data Mode. So it can write a dvd+rw at 22x the normal speed, meaning that if you were to write a movie to it that is say 60 minutes long, it would take 2 minutes and 42 seconds :)
     
  7. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    leopard yes but snow leopard requires an intel chip , not power pc
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  8. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
    God yes of course, forgot about that.
     
  9. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    thats why in time i shall replace it.I wont just now because i have this belief that i should be able to get at least ten years good service out of it, even though not having flash is a nuisance, as well as all the other programmes no longer supported.I am quite stubborn :laugh:
     
  10. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    10 years is quite a challenge!

    I have had my iMac since 2006 and was not supported for Lion this year. Managed to upgrade to a Core2Duo to allow a hack to run it, but not sure how much longer it will last with up to date OS and Apps?

    Hoping it will last as well as yours but not holding my breath...
     
  11. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
    I still got my Yosemite G3 power mac :) With matching screen, running osx.
     
  12. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    I am guessing it's not your main Mac though?

    I got pressured into getting rid of my older Mac kit, when the missus wanted her Dining Room back. Looks much better now done though but all my old kit went as wasn't using it really and only nostalgia stopped it going before.
     
  13. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
    No, mine is up on the loft my main one is a still a hackintosh i7-2600K as Apple still hasn't released an updated Mac Pro...And a MBA for my travels
     
  14. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Not that likely to get an update according to a number of sources. Depends on how much value they put on the Pro nowadays I guess?

    The talk is faster Mini's and iMac's to replace the Pro, but it's hardly the same thing. The point of the Pro is massive upgradability at the end of the day.
     
  15. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,009
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +12,768
    Massive power, the graphics card from the mini is just not good enough for me. In Aperture you really notice the difference not even in gaming. And also internal drives etc indeed.

    I'd be happy with a mini pro, already got a very good £1k+ 30" monitor that regularly gets calibrated and have no need for an iMac as such...Anyway all of that has nothing to do with external dvd writers :)
     
  16. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    I agree completely and apologise to the OP for hijacking!
     
  17. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    well yes I guess it is but i have so many expenses with the house at the moment i cant justify it , besides built in obsolescence is a bit of an issue with me. All the while a computer can be upgraded by simply replacing a part, then I am ok, but when it involves replacing the whole thing, then I have an issue with that , particularly when it still gives good service.
    I use mine every day and have done so for nigh on 6 years.Bloody things cost a grand so they should ,by rights, give ten years
     
  18. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    25,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +1,983
    no worries;)
     
  19. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Hey, not having a pop in any way whatsoever, just stating that 10 years will be a challenge. If I can get mine to last 10 years I will be chuffed! Fingers crossed it lasts me too. I am in no hurry to upgrade either. Good luck to us both...

    ;-)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice