Extending cable lead

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by RAINS, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. RAINS

    RAINS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    I am in the middle of redecorating and as the wife now want to move the TV to the other side of the room the exisiting cable lead is not long enough.

    Can anyone advise what type of cable and connections are needed to create a longer lead? Or can i buy one off the shelf from the likes of Maplins etc?


    Many thanks in advance.:smashin:
     
  2. slinger

    slinger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +272
    I'd like to know if this is possible too as we're in the middle of a re-vamp and now we have a 40" LCD I want to place the tv in our bay window.

    Coincidentally I am having the V+ box fitted next week, I may just ask the cable guy to sort it out for me.
     
  3. Owen824

    Owen824
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4,584
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +193
    to move the box you will need cable like this-

    http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page8.htm

    i just did a quick search so can get cheaper or longer lengths if needed. you will need to make sure you get the Threaded "F" barrel (female-female) to join cables. hope this helps.

    slinger, just tell the virgin guy to do it as they have cable on hand and have to install it where you want it.
     
  4. RB2004

    RB2004
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    CT100 should be Ideal, as far as i know that is higher quality than what virgin media use, as CT100 is copper on copper shielding. Sky use H109 which is very similar.

    also you will require F connectors, and a coupler
     
  5. Ben

    Ben
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +263
    If there is a Maplin near you, they do a 5m one - although you can get longer ones from any number of online stores, as Owen824 suggested :)
     
  6. raecool

    raecool
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just moved my box used this cable works great.

    Commtel 10m Satellite Extension Lead White.

    £ 5.99

    Connect and extend your satellite coaxial cable up to 10 metres.
    Complete with F-type coupler.


    link to cable


    Code:
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5342622.htm
     
  7. jeallen01

    jeallen01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +70
    I used some copper screened and shielded foam-filled WF-100 for a 15m extension - but I don't think it is low-enough loss as the colour drops out on many of the channels .

    Does any one know of anything better (i.e. lower-loss) that will take F-connectors?
    (I have thought about CT125, but the attenuation figures are'nt much better than good quality WF-100).

    Note: the splitter provided with the V-box installation kit and the isolator in the wall-outlet don't help either as they add a total of about 4-5dB attenuation on their own (judging by the figures printed on them) - and then there is the 3.7dB added by the splitter in the junction box outside!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...