Exposure Amps and cable dilema

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by gazza73, Apr 17, 2007.

1. gazza73

gazza73

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    I am using an Exposure XX amp which I have been using since 1992. I need to buy some new speaker cable because I need longer runs in our new house. I contacted my local dealer who is a Naim dealer and he said Naim and Exposure (being of similar design) can only use a particular type of cable ie Naim, Exposure, Linn type construction. If other types are used he said will sound rubbish and possible damage the amplifier. Somthing to to with conductance I think he said?

A bit naughty but I bought some secondhand QED X-Tube 400 at a cheap price on ebay. While I don't think there is a massive difference over my existing Linn K400 it does give better seperation of instruments. My only fear is can it be damaging my amp?

2. trailer

trailer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +231
    I'm not familiar with Exposure amps but Naim recommend their own cable and a minimum length of it too. This is off their website:

"NACA5 is our multi-strand loudspeaker cable, consisting of two separated 4mm square conductors. Its design is optimised for use with Naim amplifiers and loudspeakers by ensuring that its capacitance, inductance and resistance are entirely compatible".

We strongly recommend its use, along with our right-angled, twin loudspeaker plugs, which provide a safe, convenient and very effective connection. Even their plating has been the subject of research and development work.

You will find the majority of Naim owners run this however a popular alternative are cables from the Chord Co.

3. Triggaaar

Triggaaar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,191