1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

explorer.exe problem

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by themoid, Aug 17, 2005.

  1. themoid

    themoid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +26
    Afternoon all,

    My dad's computer is getting the message on boot-up of "explorer.exe unable to locate component browseu.dll - reinstallign application may fix this problem".

    Obviously no start bar etc.

    Any of you guys tell me what I need to do to get the PC running again in my role as family IT support guy :rolleyes:

    Cheers in advance !

    Stu
     
  2. Geordie Jester

    Geordie Jester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +157
    So after it has booted and you ok the message, what happens ?

    What is on the screen ?

    What operating system (windows?) you got on. Does it get part way into loading windows ? i.e. do you get the windows loading screen with the scrolling progress bar ?
     
  3. themoid

    themoid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +26
    after accepting the message it goes to the wallpaper, no icons or start bar.

    running XP pro.

    not sure how far it gets into windows (phone info only from dad so very limited :D )
     
  4. Geordie Jester

    Geordie Jester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +157
    actually there is quite a lot about it on the net... I see the problem you are talking about.

    will see if I can spot anything
     
  5. themoid

    themoid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +26
    cheers.

    did google it but afraid I didnt understand most of what i was reading :confused:
     
  6. Geordie Jester

    Geordie Jester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +157
    sounds like the best thing to do would be to replace it and see what happens. Often you just get a new message about the next problem, but you might get lucky !

    search a PC for the file and copy the file onto a floppy. Then when your dad boots he will be able to ctrl-alt-delete. click "new task" and type cmd.

    This will start a dos window. here you will be able to replace the broken/missing file.

    BROWSEUI.DLL is located in "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\" on Windows 95/98/ME, "C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\" on Windows NT/2000 and "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\" on Windows XP.

    so typing...

    cd c:\windows\system32
    (changes to the folder the file is in)

    ren browseui.dll browseui.old
    (renames the broken file.....this might not work if it is missing)

    copy a:\browseui.dll
    (copies replacement [good file])

    exit

    Now reboot and see what happens !!



    Only try the above if you have tried your own thing and you are literally stuck. I would hate to make things worse...but as a last resort give it a try..

    anyone else good with PC's ?

    Other things that are a possibility, the windows disk. you can boot from that and then when it gets in you can opt to "repair existing windows installation".

    do you know what he did just prior to it ? Or just come out the blue ?
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,887
    Has he still got an old restore point from before the problem occurred ? If so he could just restore his computer back to that point by booting up in safe mode.
    To get into Safe Mode just keep tapping the F8 key as it's booting up and you will get a menu. Choose the option for Safe Mode and you should then be able to restore to a previous point using the system restore option (assuming it is switched on)
     
  8. Geordie Jester

    Geordie Jester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +157
    yup for sure.

    I assumed safe mode wasn't letting him in. I think this sort of error is kinda serious and doesnt usually let you in to do it
     
  9. themoid

    themoid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +26
    thanks guys, I'll try safe mode then see what happens.

    Ta

    Stu
     
  10. themoid

    themoid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +26
    i replaced the file with the copy from my PC and all is fine again,

    cheers
    guys :thumbsup:
     
  11. Geordie Jester

    Geordie Jester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +157
    No probs Stu, glad it all worked out.

    PC's are a nightmare when they go wrong ! Nice to hear it was such a quick fix !
     

Share This Page

Loading...