1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

explain plz

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by 5tAr, Dec 28, 2004.

1. 5tAr

5tAr
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone

Im new to this so bear with me plz :)

can any of you guys explain the jiggerypokery about lcd screens and specs, eg do i need progressive scan, i have reviewed a lot of lcd tvs and some of the most expensive one dont have this.

can somone explain contrast ratio?

plus anything else i which is essential for a really good picture quality.

thanxs

ps sorry if i sound a little dumb :blush: but i find it easy to find out what specs each tv has but hard to find out what all the jargon means.

2. ianh64

ianh64

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

As far as LCD screens go, IMO, they have matured greatly over the last 9 months. So if you are looking for an LCD and great PQ, you need to get a rough idea on when it was introduced. Some bargain sets around at the moment are previous generations, and whilst whey may have been £6k when introduced, they would not look as good as a £3k display from the last 9 months. And those £3k displays from the last 9 months can now be had for 2/3rd of that price. As far as 32" and above displays are concerned, if its got a resolution of 1366x768, its pretty much guaranteed to be latest gen - at time of writing. One big exception is the 45" Sharp with screen 1920x1080. It is of even later spec and indicates the future direction of LCD panels, but at a price!

Why do you want latest generation?

Well, there are a number of things:

Aspect Ratios: