explain blind scan and sat set up on new system

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by RobTi, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +163
    Hi I am looking for some help to explain how blind scan and set up on a new motorised system works.

    Do you need to find say your reference satellite position and input it then do a scan then manually move the dish or what.

    What I really mean is how much is automated

    Thanks
     
  2. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,913
    Most satellite receiver have a built in list of transponders - frequencies etc. so they can perform a scan fairly quickly.
    Because of the frequency range, modulation types etc.. to perform a full scan without this information can take a long time, perhpas an our.
    Because this type of scan hoesn't have a reference list it is referred to as 'blind'.
     
  3. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Assuming the dish is setup with USALS it will be aligned to your reference sat when installed and your receiver will then know how to move between sats using your location.

    You then need to find some channels, you can either do it by scanning every sat or by using channel lists. Decent receivers will allow you to automate the process. A Dreambox for example can scan a TP, single satellite or list of satellites that cab be selected from an onscreen menu. With a Dreambox you can download and install channel lists very easily and if doing that you don't really need to scan at all unless something is missing from the list.
     
  4. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +163
    So if I understand right as long as I can get a channel list I wouldn't need q blind scan and can I ask about usals as long as I can tell it what sat I am pointing at then it would store all positions and channels
     
  5. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    If you get a channel list and it has what you want on it you don't need any scanning at all blind or otherwise. Normal scanning scans a list of known TPs, blind scanning attempts to find everything on the sat.

    With USALs you drive the motor to say 1W then install the dish. Assuming the install is correct and the pole plumb etc the receiver can now workout where the rest of the sats are. Your receiver will have a list of known satellites, again if you use a channel list on a Dreambox etc it all comes with it.
     
  6. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +163
    Thanks for the answers currently using my pc to drive and find sats and might be ready for a change
     
  7. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Get an open source Linux based receiver such as the Dreambox, you'll love it. :D
     
  8. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +163
    Love it, yes Maybe except for the cost, the pc does it for free
     
  9. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +481
    A full Blind scan will go through every frequency, polarity, correction etc and capture everything being sent from the satellite.

    Enthusiasts like to do this as broadcasters tend to transmit a lot of interesting and new stuff (feeds) that are not normally on the known transponders.
     
  10. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Yep and others benefit from their findings:
    www.satelliweb.com
     

Share This Page

Loading...