expert advice neeeded on system :)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by dragoncdcom, Jul 5, 2002.

1. dragoncdcom

dragoncdcom

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, I'm a beginner and need some advice.. Below is a list of what i plan to get, with respective prices. I am most concerned music performance; movies are secondary.

Denon 3802 $720
    Gallo Due' $800
    Paradigm Studio 20 $550
    Paradigm Studio CC $400
    Velodyne HGS-12 Series 2 $1400

Music input will be from 24bit 96kHz optical source (via my computer's audigy sound card)

I chose the Denon for the 5/7channel stereo, which I understand is the only brand that has this feature

I don't have much room, so the Studio/20 is as big as I can go for fronts; they will be sitting on a bookshelf.

My couch is along the back wall so I chose the expensive Due' because of of 180 degree tweeter and they are wall mountable. I do not prefer bipolar surrounds.

I heard Velodyne is the best for detail, is there anything better for music in that price range?

Any feedback is appreciated, thanks :)

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The Denon 3802 is one of the market leaders in home cinema amps but it isn't particularly musical and if music is your priority I would look at a Marantz or Sony ES555 instead.

Unfortunately the Paradigm Studio series isn't sold in UK so we can't comment.

Velodyne HGS is a highly rated series but have a look at REL ST series as well.

If they are US dollar prices that you are quoting the prices are much better over there as we pay £720 for the Denon and your quote is the equivalent of £450.

Lucky fellow.

3. MikeK

MikeK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0

Music input will be from 24bit 96kHz optical source (via my computer's audigy sound card)