Expensive HDMI cables and better sound quality?

nikophonics

Novice Member
Have spent a lot of time reading on here, reference HDMI cables are all the same, making no difference what so ever too picture quality. Having to agree with the experts findings, as I am just a layman!
Would this be the same with sound quality? Are there any specific links to articles that discuss this? :lesson:
Many thanks

neilball

HDMI is carried as an encrypted digital stream, therefore there is no way cables, being an entirely passive device, can affect the picture or sound quality. If they could they would have to decrypt the stream, target the elements of the digital signal to "enhance" and then re-encrypt the signal for ongoing transmission to the next device upstream.

Trollslayer

Distinguished Member
Neil has hit it on the head.
HDMI cables should be branded 'Standard Speed' or 'High Speed'.
Ignore cables which go on about HDMI version numbers, it is not relevant to the cable.

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
I was amazed at some of the 'BS' (it was in the US) being peddled by cable manufacturers at the recent CEDIA Trade Show - had to walk off of a couple of Stands vs. have a barny over some Pseudo Science, the cables with a 'battery' applied to the shield were the biggest laugh/highest cost.

Joe

Trollslayer

Distinguished Member
Joe - this is why I avoid shows like that.

offitmassive

Hdmi whether costing £0.99 from amazon or a monster Hdmi cable costing £99.99 works in the same way... Digitally, you can't improve on it if it's working. Simple. I personally look for the cheaper thinner cables as they are more flexible and is handy when trying to insert the wires through into wall cavities , going up the cavity and back through wall into room . And all this gold plated plug malarkey...lolz, this has no benefit to the quality as the signal is sent digitally inside the cable!!!

neilball