• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question Expanding from Sonos

Beks

Novice Member
Hi there! Complete newbie! Please help if you can. I have 2 x Play5s the Sonos Sub and a few Play1s. Where do you go from here? More Sonos? Two Fyne Audio 501? Anything else you could suggest? Sound quality is the lost important issue. I want to treat myself with a more speakers! They have changed my life :) Thanks!

MaryWhitehouse

Prominent Member
Isn't Sonos a closed system i.e. nothing other than Sonos?

acgingersnaps

Prominent Member
I have a sonos system and a hifi system. I think there's a sonos amp now that is part of the sonos ecosystem, but requires passive speakers of your choice. Otherwise you can get a real amp and a port (i have an older connect).
The other option is just to not connect your actual hifi to your sonos. I did this for ages. Was fine.

I would point out, as someone with both, I love the sonos ecosystem and ease of use. It's great in the kitchen and hidden away in other rooms. However, if as stated, you're prepared to spend over £1k on speakers (and amplify them well) they should be head and shoulders over the Sonos. Mine certainly are.

Beks

Novice Member
I have a sonos system and a hifi system. I think there's a sonos amp now that is part of the sonos ecosystem, but requires passive speakers of your choice. Otherwise you can get a real amp and a port (i have an older connect).
The other option is just to not connect your actual hifi to your sonos. I did this for ages. Was fine.