EX77: Hi-speed HDD-->DVD. How?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ghibbett, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. ghibbett

    ghibbett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi All,

    Quick question - how do I get my Panny EX77 to burn something off the HDD to the DVD at high speed? At present, if the film is 2hrs long it takes 2hrs to burn.....

    Cheers, :thumbsup:
     
  2. Hal_loe

    Hal_loe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +118
    You don't say alot about the recording you are trying to transfer, the unit will only high speed dub if it doesn't have to re-encode to fit.

    So if film was recorded in XP mode it will not fit onto the DVD without re-encoding it to SP for example.

    You have to use the appropriate record mode before recording.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,094
    As I recall, Panasonic have done away with the 'Record for High Speed Copy' setting on the UK EX77.
    In other words, [ as Hal_Loe points out ] provided the recording is less than a nominal 2 hours in SP mode [.. in practice about 2hrs 8 Mins ] then it will be possible to High Speed copy the recording.

    To access it, use Advanced Copy via Functions / To others / Advanced Copy and in the Copy preparation screen change the copy mode from SP to to High Speed [ item 2 in the copy Screen]

    Incidentally, if a recording is too long to fit, you can also choose the FR mode [ Flexible Record] in the same screen , to make it fit, although unavoidably, that process also requires real time.
     
  4. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does that mean they are making it default for thier next models? Initially it was nice to have the choice, but in truth I nearly always transfer in High Speed Mode, for the convenience and like for like quality of transfer. I've also found a way of keeping the aspect ratio as widescreen which was an initial bugbear of High Speed Copying.

    P.S. I've never quite timed it, but I think for every minute of video transferred at High Speed Copy it takes approx 6 seconds. Anyone want to advance on that?
     
  5. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +235
    Hi Dazzle.
    Can you tell me how you you manage to keep the 16.9 aspect ratio please? Is your machine an EX75?
    Thanks!:smashin:
     
  6. ghibbett

    ghibbett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +32
    Thanks all :smashin:

    I record everything in XP mode therefore I guess I can't hi-speed record. Oh well, doesn't really matter.

    Cheers :thumbsup:
     
  7. maldonian

    maldonian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +91
    You should be able to, provide it will fit. You can copy just over an hour of XP material to a DVD.
     
  8. SuperSeven

    SuperSeven
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Not if it won't fit on the blank disc without recoding. You could always divide the title and burn it over two discs, both at high speed.
     
  9. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I used TMPEnc MPEG Editor 2.0 too extract the files from the DVD-RAM and then it was recognised as 16:9 widescreen 720x480. If I played it back straight from the DVD-RAM disc in Windows Media Player it would say 4:3 720x576 in the properties window, and display it as such. PowerDVD used to play it back in Widescreen aslong as you double click the info file, and not the VRO file.
     
  10. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +235
    Thanks for your help! :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...